3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Review of the 27″ Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor

February 1st, 2011 · 627 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


Acer HN274H is going to be the first 27-inch 3D-capable 120Hz LCD monitor as well as the first one to feature support for both frame sequential stereo 3D over the Dual-Link DVI interface (used by Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology) as well as stereoscopic 3D support over the HDMI 1.4a interface (all three ports that the monitor has). The bigger size of the monitor as well as the enhanced support for using stereo 3D content from a PC, as well as consumer devices such as Playstation 3 console, a standalone Blu-ray 3D player or a 3D-capable Set-Top-Box is what is making it a very interesting product. You can say that this monitor can successfully compete with 3D HDTVs in some aspects, especially if you are looking for a more affordable 3D-capable display. But is the level of quality in stereo 3D mode comparable to that of a 3D-capable HDTV and is this new monitor better than the already available other 3D LCDs in terms of further reduced crosstalk/ghosting? These are just some of the questions that I’m going to try to answer here…



I’m starting with the unboxing video of the monitor that I’ve already posted a few days ago, you can watch it if you’ve missed it as it covers things like what is the monitor bundled with as well as what video input ports it has and where they are located. The 27-inch size of the display kind of makes it perfect to cover your whole vision while you are sitting in front of it in a normal way – like about 20 inches (50 centimeters) from it. So you can say that 27-inch is the perfect size for a 3D-capable computer monitor that you are going to use on a desk, for larger size you should consider a 3D-capable HDTV that will be sitting further away from you for the best possible experience. And then there is also a matter of the bandwidth requirements that are covered by the DL DVI interface at Full HD, but going a step further to lets say 2560×1600 would be a problem for 3D content transmission as well as providing enough FPS in games even with high-end GPUs. But let us see what are the specifications of the new Acer 3D display…


Acer HN274H Specifications:

Panel Size: 27″ (69 cm) Wide Screen 16:9, TN, LED backlight
Native Resolution: 1920×1080 pixels
Pixel Pitch: 0.3114 mm
Brightness(Max): 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 100,000,000:1 (dynamic)
Viewing Angles: 170° H / 160° V
Response Time: 2 ms (GtG)
Video Inputs: Dual-link DVI-D, VGA, 3x HDMI 1.4a
Power Consumption: 45W On, 1.7W Sleep, 0.65W Off/Standby
Integrated Audio: 2x 2W stereo speakers
Monitor stand: tilt +30°~-30°
Dimension (WxHxD): 25.5″ x 18.5″ x 7.6″ (648.1 x 468.5 x 192 mm)
Weight: 13.2 lbs (6 kg)

What I want to direct your attention to in the specifications is the maximum level of brightness that is rated at 300 cd/m2 and the maximum dynamic contrast ratio of 100 million to 1. You should have these values in mind so that you can compare to what I was able to measure during the testing of the display as there were some interesting difference, mostly int he level of brightness… but that of course also reflects on the contrast ratio. And one more thing, the dynamic contrast ratio is not available when you are using the 3D mode, it is automatically forced to off state no matter if you have activated it in 2D mode or not. The value of 100 million to 1 of course seems way too high, especially considering the fact that specialists say that after a certain number it is not only hard, but impossible to measure and that is something in between 1 to 5 million to one according to different sources. Still having a LED backlight with ability to independently control the LEDs behind the LCD panel and not edge LEDs can allow you to get higher dynamic contrast depending on what is being displayed. And just one more clarification as a lot of people are confused by this, there is no such thing as LED display, these are LCD displays with LED backlight instead of the more traditional CCFL backlight, but these are still LCD displays. Go ahead and blame the marketing on this confusion.



Not, lets take a quick look over the menu of the monitor and what options and settings you have available in both 2D and 3D mode. The two menus you see on the pictures above are the ones that are available to you in 2D mode, notice the contrast level is 50 and the color temperature is set to Warm (6500K). The dynamic contrast control function (ACM) is disabled by default, there is no option to control OverDrive from this menu (you can from the Service Menu, but more on that in a moment). The IR Mode option is there, because the display has a built in IR transmitter, but besides the Normal mode (on by default), the other Consumer and LAN modes do not change anything and they are not mentioned as something more specific…



Taking a photo in the infrared spectrum shows the integrated IR emitter in the top frame of the display, in the middle, without having to open the monitor to see it. Of course peeking through the plastic does not produce great image quality and level of detail, but it is enough to see what the emitter looks like and that it has four LEDs used to sen the synchronization signal to the active shutter glasses. The interesting thing is that since the IR emitter is integrated into the display, there is no need for the use of external device, but there is also no need to connect any USB cables between the monitor and the PC, no matter if you are sending 3D content over the DVI or the HDMI interface. Of course you can also use an external IR emitter should you need to, but plugging in such in the PC will disable the built-in one the same way as if you try to connect two emitters to the PC at the same time one gets disabled. The built-in IR emitter and the 3D Vision active shutter glasses that are bundled with the display are used for both when playing games in stereo 3D mode or viewing 3D content from your PC over the DL DVI interface and when using a 3D-capable consumer electronic device connected through HDMI 1.4a interface. Acer HN274H works just fine with 3DTV Play, although you should not need to use that when using your PC as you can get even 120Hz at 1080p resolution when using the DL DVI interface, so you don’t have to limit yourself to either 720p 50/60Hz or 1080p 24Hz 3D modes that the HDMI 1.4a supports for 3D. With that said you should not have trouble using even AMD-based video cards over the HDMI 1.4a interface just like you would with a 3D-capable HDTV with the 3D Vision glasses, so you can say that this monitor is kind of an universal solution. Console gamers should also be happy due to the fact that they can use PlayStaion 3 consoles in 3D mode together with this monitor, and it will work with standalone Blu-ray 3D players for watching movies and even for watching 3D TV with the help of a 3D-capable set-top-box. You should also be able to connect 3D-capable consumer cameras and camcorders to preview photos and videos you’ve taken in 3D and so on…



Now I’m going to take a quick look at the Service Menu as there is some interesting and important information that you cam find there and some more advanced users might want to play with the settings. However I should advice you to be careful what you are playing with in that menu and if you don’t know, you better not touch anything and just use the information provided to you like how many hours has the monitor been used. Below you will find a short guide on how to enter the Service Menu, I’m using the term “button” as besides the Power button all the rest are capacitive (tough) buttons and not physical ones.

Accessing the Service Menu on Acer HN274H LCD Monitor:

– Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button
– Press and hold the leftmost “button” and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor
– When you see the image on screen you can release the “button” and press the Menu button (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu
– When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode

The interesting find here is the LCD panel type used by Acer, it is an LGD LM270WF3 (made by LG), although I’ve had some suspicions that it might be from Samsung before actually checking the Service Menu. The previous 3D-capable LCD monitor form Acer (GD245HZ/GD235HQ) used a panel made by CMO (Chi Mei Optoelectronics). Samsung is also apparently going to soon have a 27-inch model that will most likely use their own panels, so that we are going to have some choice and competition. It is interesting to note however that LG still hasn’t announced their own 27-inch 3D-capable monitor to use their own panels that Acer apparently already is using for the upcoming 27-inch HN274H.



One thing that I’ve noticed right from the first moment I’ve turned on the monitor was that it was very bright, but measuring the color reproduction as well as the maximum level of brightness kind of surprised me. 492 cd/m2 as a maximum level of brightness when the specifications say 300 cd/m2 for the monitor kind of surprised me and at first I though there is some sort of a mistake, so I’ve repeated the measurements multiple times restarting the system and doing factory reset of the display settings. Int he end the results were all very close to the 500 cd/m2 mark, so I can assume that the monitor should actually be rated 500 cd/m2. This of course was measured with Contrast setting of 50 which is the default for 2D mode and in 3D mode the default setting is 40 which means a little less brightness, but still quite high at about 400 cd/m2. Lowering the Contrast setting to 0, the minimum level of brightness for the display, leaves the display still very bright at about 269 cd/m2 and this also leads to reduced level of crosstalk/ghosting. And when having such high level of brightness it is normal to have higher color deviations as you can see from the measurement results before doing a color calibration…



After doing a color calibration with a setting to preserve the maximum possible brightness the results were quite impressive with significantly reduced color deviations and actual color reproduction turning to be quite accurate while at the same time maintaining a maximum level of brightness of 395 cd/m2. And due to the high maximum brightness levels that the monitor has the level of the black was also a bit high at about 0.6 cd/m2 while the actual level of contrast measured was around 700:1. The monitor exhibits some input lag, the values measured vary from 0 to 16 ms with an average of about 8 ms, something which is quite good considering that most of the 3D-capable 120Hz monitors do have some input lag anyway. Next comes the question about backlight bleeding, the Acer unit I reviewed has very even backlight with no brighter areas at any of the sides, so the LED backlight is apparently used quite good.



I’m starting with one of my more recent tests using special photos for finding the level of crosstalk by going to black and white, the test photos are available here, so if you wish you can compare your monitor as well. As you can see performance is quite good as compared to other monitors, but there is still some crosstalk present (the red in the left corner is just a reflection in the glasses). Have in mind that this is a specially developed test to show the issue and actually does not represent the real usage scenarios, as there the situations are usually not as extreme as with the test photos. In this test I’ve noticed something familiar from the test of the Planar monitor and that is the slight gradation in the white as you can see on the left part of the image. At first this made me think that this is again a Samsung panel and that we have something happening with them having even backlight with OverDriver active, however seeing that Acer uses a new LG panel made me think otherwise…



After making another test, this time without shooting through the glasses’ lens with a black on white 3D test photo I saw a situation that very closely resembles that with the Planar SA2311W with the white not being evenly distributed, but gradating over different shades. Here as well increasing a bit the Contrast level from its default setting of 40 can help make the white seem more even and get rid of the gradation effect, but this can also increase the level of ghosting/crosstalk a bit. Disabling the OverDrive from the Service Menu did fix the problem as well, however this also leads to having more ghosting and you should not disable the OD in stereo 3D mode anyway. In the case with Planar’s monitor the gradation effect was hardly apparent in normal use, but with the Acer, probably due to the higher level of brightness there were some situations that I could see some side effects caused by it in real world use. I hope that panel and display manufacturers can take a note at this and find a solution, so that we won’t be seeing the issue anymore with the default settings on the display. Although you can usually see it only with some photos, that doesn’t mean that the problem should be there… as using the same extreme test photos on older models of 3D-capable LCDs the same problem with different gradation of the white was not present.



Moving to the the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, a real world crosstalk test to show you that the specific issue described above does not usually create any problems with normal use for stereo 3D content. Here there is almost no crosstalk/ghosting visible, although there is some slightly visible, but the end result is still very good, although it is probably slightly worse as compared to what most 3D HDTVs show as result here.



Moving to Tomb Raider: Underworld and one of my favorite scenes in the game that I use for checking the 3D monitors of the level of top and bottom ghosting due to the contrasting scenes that are more prone to having crosstalk/ghosting. Starting with the top ghosting, again good results with a very faint afterimage leaking at the top of the screen, although pretty close to the best performing in this test Planar monitor, the Acer’s ghosting is slightly more apparent, probably die to the increased level of brightness.



Moving to the bottom screen crosstalk/ghosting test, again by using the game Tomb Raider: Underworld, this time looking for color ghosting… another issue that is caused by the OverDrive function that leads to pixels not appearing as faint dark shadows in terms of crosstalk, but as much more apparent brightly colored afterimage. Again good results, very close to the results provided by the best performing in the test for now Planar monitor, although the color ghosting is a bit more apparent here as well, again probably due to the higher maximum brightness of the Acer.

I should state the fact that I don’t yet have information about exact release date and price of the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor, but if I have to guess it will most likely be available at end of February, beginning of March. And the prices could be something around $600 USD and 500 Euro as the monitor comes bundled with a pair of glasses and an integrated IR emitter. Do have in mind that these is not official information, but something that I’m assuming as a possibility, so the actual date and price can be different, but these mentioned by me above do sound reasonable… I’ve got some official information regarding the pricing and availability of the 27″ Acer HN274H with my initial forecast being close to the official numbers. The monitor should be available by the end of February with a suggested price of 689€ (Euro) for Europe and probably the same amount, but in US dollars for the North American markets. So the wait for it won’t be long…

In terms of features, the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor does a great job in offering the flexibility you’d expect with a 3D-capable solution that will work not only with your computer, but also with consumer electronic devices. The Acer HN274H comes not only as a good solution for gaming in stereo 3D mode on your PC with 3D Vision, but also for using with multiple consumer electronic devices that do support S3D, and the three HDMI 1.4a ports make it easier to have multiple devices connected at the same time. In terms of performance, the Acer did have some good and some not so good surprises in stock, but you should have in mind that I’m reviewing an earlier sample of the monitor, so the final production units might be better. The level of crosstalk/ghosting in stereo 3D mode is just slightly more than the Planar SA2311W which is still providing the best results. The reason that the Acer monitor has slightly more ghosting as compared to Planar is most likely due to the higher maximum level of brightness that the Acer has as compared to Planar, but all the tests I’m doing are at the default factory settings of the displays, so you can know what to expect out of the box. In overall, the 27-inch Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD monitor is a great choice for everyone considering a bigger and more flexible (supporting not only 3D Vision on PC) 3D-capable monitor with the idea to use it with more different stereoscopic 3D devices, including consumer electronics. Not to mention that it can be considered as a good 3D HDTV alternative, smaller in size, but also more affordable and flexible as it supports 120Hz at 1080p on your PC, unlike all of the currently available 3D HDTVs ;)

Tags: ···········


627 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Bloody // Apr 7, 2011 at 18:07

    JPeterson, the built-in IR emitter does not need to be plugged in anywhere. It gets the sync from the video interface apparently. So no matter what input you are using to get the 3D content to the monitor, you are still using the 3D Vision glasses… you can even use an AMD/ATI GPU “with” 3D Vision this way over the HDMI 1.4 interface as is the case with the Envy 17 3D laptop I tried with… ;)

  • 2 Terran236 // Apr 7, 2011 at 18:45

    Just a random fact I noticed: The specs for the monitor state that it weighs 13lbs but on ups tracking its saying that it weighs about 18 lbs.

  • 3 Niz // Apr 7, 2011 at 19:04

    The nvidia 3d vision IR transmitter has an adjustment control on it for stereo depth… this monitor doesn’t have one… how do you control stereo depth? If you can’t, is it an issue?

  • 4 Anathema // Apr 7, 2011 at 19:56

    Just with shortcut keys set in the control panel that work in-game. ctrl-F3 for less depth and ctrl-F4 for more depth is the default setting. Works OK.

  • 5 Pewpy // Apr 7, 2011 at 21:39

    The 3D is solid and flawless! I had the Acer 24 inch with the Nvidia glasses and external emitter and this is 10x better w/ no ghosting on PC and PS3 games i’ve played. It’s perfect imo! 10/10

  • 6 Dogor // Apr 7, 2011 at 22:16

    it is perfect!i will be getting 2 more when prices drop down abit or at least with no 3d glasses included. am gonna sell my gtx 480’s cuz i just ordered the gtx 590 lol

  • 7 MJ // Apr 7, 2011 at 22:28

    Can’t wait to get home today and try mine out, love the raving reviews I’m hearing

  • 8 MJ // Apr 7, 2011 at 22:31

    why did you order one 590 if you had two 480’s Dogor? Just curious. I get more out of my OC’d 470’s in SLI than I would from a stock 590.

  • 9 Terran236 // Apr 7, 2011 at 22:35

    I hear ya MJ, all these people getting theirs , makes me want mine to get here ASAP lol.

    @Dogor, lol hot damn, big spender!

    @Pewpy Very cool to hear. This monitor so far seems pretty epic.

  • 10 Eckomind // Apr 7, 2011 at 23:58

    I have one gripe with the monitor. The monitor doesn’t go into 3d mode automatically on WoW, Left 4 dead 2, and Black op’s multiplayer. I have to press ctrl + T to get the monitor into 3d mode. Doe anyone else have this problem? It doesn’t happen with my other games, so I’m not sure what’s going on.

  • 11 MJ // Apr 8, 2011 at 00:11

    Did you install the Acer ADM driver for the monitor

  • 12 Terran236 // Apr 8, 2011 at 00:57

    Just got done testing Crysis 2 (faux 3d) and several 3d movies (avatar, tron, tangled, drive angry [awesome 3d effect in that movie on par with Avatars window feel)

    First and formost this monitor seems a little brighter than my iz3d but not by much. Also its thinner yet lighter than my iz3d.

    2d: what can I say that hasn’t been said already, this monitor looks awesome, feels awesome. The 120hz makes it feel smooth like when watching a tv with Auto motion plus.
    3d:

    Wow I am, amazed, the crosstalk is so minimal it’s not even noticeable 99% of the time. Coming from a ghosty crosstalky IZ3d, this is certainly a treat for the eyes. I’m very happy with this purchase.

    Also tried mortal kombat in 3d, looks amazing the colors are all vibrant. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a 3d enthusiast.

  • 13 Dogor // Apr 8, 2011 at 00:59

    ecko try installing the ADM driver!
    should i just get another 480? but i don’t like how these cards get in the summer! i mean i have to hook my ac into the case! i don’t have them overclocked only my cpu which is at 4.2 ghz. i would like the gtx 590 because less heat,less power,more room for my 4way sli motherboard lol

  • 14 Lucidkill // Apr 8, 2011 at 01:09

    I had an issue with mine. I tried to lower the brightness of the monitor and it began to emit a high pitched whine. The whine gets louder as it approaches zero brightness. The sound is very annoying so I contacted Acer. Acer’s technical support was helpful. They wanted me to send it to Newegg for replacement. I hope my replacement does not have the same issue. It will be here in a few days.

  • 15 Niz // Apr 8, 2011 at 01:28

    Just broke down and ordered one.

  • 16 MJ // Apr 8, 2011 at 03:35

    Congrats

  • 17 DevilG // Apr 8, 2011 at 04:07

    Just got mine today and tested with PS3 games. I tested with Super Stardust HD, Killzone3 and GT5. The 3D effects were all amazing but came with some issues. In some areas in Killzone3 were a little too dark to see. In GT5, I got screen tearing sometime when HDD was being accessed in 2d mode but it magically stopped when I turned on 3D. Weird.

  • 18 Pewpy // Apr 8, 2011 at 05:45

    If anyone plays RPGs, try Drakensang: River of Time in 3D if you have a good system. I feel like i’m in another world! :P

  • 19 Eckomind // Apr 8, 2011 at 07:52

    I’m going to check out the demo for Mortal Kombat in 3d. I have ADM installed, but I’m still having that problem on the pc where the monitor doesn’t go into 3d mode but the game is running in 3d. The 3d glasses don’t turn on because the monitor doesn’t go into 3d mode properly. It only happens in a few games, I’m not sure why though. So far I think this is a great 3d monitor I just wish it was working right all the time.

  • 20 MJ // Apr 8, 2011 at 08:23

    Loving the monitor. I bought a stand for it on amazon, http://amzn.to/eAqXUA

    Need an adjustable stand after getting used to my last one for so long. Hopefully it raises it high enough, I’ll post here if it works well for this monitor.

  • 21 Fritz // Apr 8, 2011 at 11:30

    @Eckomind: try upgrading your NVIDIA driver to the actual version 267.59 maybe that helps.
    The ADM you have installed already, which is good.

    Other possible reason: Sometimes when the battery is low, the glasses don’t start to shutter. In this case try pressing the small knob on top of the left temple.

    Have you charged the battery of the glasses with the USB cable before?

    Cheers, Fritz

  • 22 Eckomind // Apr 8, 2011 at 11:59

    Yes. I charged the glasses completely before I used them. I’ll try upgrading my drivers. Thanks Fritz.

  • 23 Eckomind // Apr 8, 2011 at 13:12

    Thank you so much Fritz. I just installed the newest beta drivers and that did the trick. The 3d mode works like it should. I’m now 100% satisfied with this monitor. WoW looks amazing in 3d. It feels like you’re in another world.

  • 24 Terran236 // Apr 8, 2011 at 17:55

    Just got finished trying out the hidden Avatar 3d stuff from disk 3. I must say WOW 3d in full 1080p(framepacked not side by side). It is bright, and the colors are very vibrant and eye pleasing. Amazing!

  • 25 KashunatoR // Apr 8, 2011 at 18:13

    i’ve got the money ready for it. i am now waiting to appear on Romanian sites. the wait is so frustrating!!!

  • 26 H C Forde // Apr 8, 2011 at 18:34

    Pewpy,
    …and some say this 3D thing is just a fad.

    This is what S3d is all about imho; IMMERSION & greater REALISM. What I am hearing is also an expected response with a larger monitor. I think 27″ is a “sweetspot” size for S3D and text don’t look as bad as on a 32″

    Terran236;
    Can you go into greater depth of your 3D experience with CRYSIS2?

  • 27 Slider162 // Apr 8, 2011 at 19:08

    Thanks all, I pulled the trigger on one yesterday. So no complaints over the 1920×1080 resolution and the .31 dot pitch? That was my biggest hang-up. But there are no alternatives at this point.

  • 28 Terran236 // Apr 8, 2011 at 19:38

    @HC Forde, Will do, no problem!

    Here we go:
    Ok although it was fake 3d, there is still some separation.

    One can see crosstalk when zoomed in to the sky (almost white bluish color) with the sniper due to the red cross-hair against an almost white sky. Even then it was very faint. The more noticeable crosstalk was the dark buildings against the sky. But that is not the main problem with Crysis 2 in 3d.

    The main problem with Crysis 3d, is the the only thing that is 3d is the UI, everything else is the same as 2d. It feels like a waste of batter life honestly.

    So with that, Crysis 3d is overall unimpressive unless you force it to do real 3d. Maybe with some 3d party drivers, iz3d shutter glasses drivers?

    On a side note: I’m not experiencing any of those problems where the 3d doesn’t turn on or off when it has to. Using the latest stable drivers 266.58. Even minimizing and maximizing turns the glasses on and off.

  • 29 SScorpio // Apr 8, 2011 at 20:07

    Anyone find any settings to minimize the ghosting that can still occur. I tested Resident Evil 5 yesterday and I noticed a lot of ghosting in the benchmark with the beginning cutscene. Later when the benchmark goes to normal game play the ghosting is gone until almost the end when you start seeing the sky again. The sky is overcast but still bright and objects against it like buildings or boxes will ghost. Would disabling bloom or HDR resolve this?

  • 30 MJ // Apr 8, 2011 at 20:36

    I must say this display is the perfect size. Just enough to fill my entire field of vision for full immersion, but not too big for normal computer use.

  • 31 Pewpy // Apr 9, 2011 at 02:59

    If a game’s effects are incompatible, some errors will seem like ghosting until you turn off the effect with some trial and error.

    In Drankensang TRoT, you can feel as if a little town was built in your room lol.

  • 32 Terran236 // Apr 9, 2011 at 04:48

    I just finished trying out Avatar the game. Love the movie, the game not so much(boring as all hell), but it does have some eye candy. The avatar game probably uses depth the best out of any game I have played so far.

    …and It’s not the first time I have played it either. I used to test out my old IZ3D and I can tell you that this is 100 times better. There is seemingly no crosstalk even with the blue skin and a dark green forest background. Once again, like Crysis 2 the most noticeable crosstalk is the sky mostly (black and white). Overall Avatar the game looks amazing.

  • 33 Terran236 // Apr 9, 2011 at 04:49

    Forgot to add, The depth is very awesome in the Avatar game. It feels like you are looking through a window into another world, similar to the movie’s window feel.

  • 34 revan89 // Apr 9, 2011 at 20:31

    what setting do you guys use? depth%?

  • 35 Terran236 // Apr 9, 2011 at 23:47

    Generaly 15% here, il go up to 25%. When there is too much depth-say 40%- I feel like I am going to go cock eyed + an imminent headache.

  • 36 Eckomind // Apr 9, 2011 at 23:59

    I use 40% and the 3d effeect is very good. No headaches from playing for 2 hours. Stardust HD on the ps3 is so pretty to look at in 3d, and it has very addictive gameplay.

  • 37 Terran236 // Apr 10, 2011 at 00:07

    Damn 40% is pretty high, but then again Avatar uses super high separation as well. Which brings me to the next point, ive noticed that the brownish floating mountains against the blue sky don’t seem to crosstalk at all some times! It’s amazing. the more I used this monitor the more i love it.

    Agree with you about Stardust HD after the demo I might actually buy it. Uncharted 3 in 3d is going to rock hard as well later this year.

  • 38 Surya // Apr 10, 2011 at 01:32

    Hi There,

    I am wondering if this monitor has international power input.
    I am in 220V 50hz land, and they have not introduce this 27: locally. I may want to buy from USA.

    Thanks

  • 39 Eckomind // Apr 10, 2011 at 03:03

    Yes. If you download the manual, you will see that it comes with a power supply that is universal. Which means you can use it anywhere, without having to worry about where you plug it in. :)

  • 40 MJ // Apr 10, 2011 at 05:36

    The Vesa stand I bought worked out great. I can now raise, turn and lower the monitor and fit the keyboard under it. http ://amzn.to/eAqXUA . Highly recommended to add a lot of value to these monitors, for under $40 it’s a steal. Also, you will be able to keep your stock base in mint condition which is always a good idea.

  • 41 john-boy // Apr 10, 2011 at 09:48

    HC Forbe – Hope all is well!

    Hi everyone, I went ahead and was able to get this wonderful monitor, its very nice!

    I read that Samsung is getting ready to put out their own large 3D monitor. I wonder if ASUS will follow…

    more later… john-boy

  • 42 H C Forde // Apr 10, 2011 at 18:10

    Hey john-boy,

    All is well! I read yours and the other reviews on Newegg. I am just waiting for FRY’S to get these in. The only downside is that I have to pay for(state tax) the ability to return it without shipping cost if I need to, but I gotta use this store credit somehow.

    ASUS should have been out even before ACER in mid to end of March. If they were both sourcing the panels from LG, then LG probably decided to give the supposed short supply all to ACER because of ASUS’s lack of follow through. seeing the manufacture dates of January and Feburary lead me to believe there is a shortage and even LG has not been able to make a quantity sufficient so they can come out with their own model. Because of all that I have heard I believe these are not run of the mill TN panels. (especially with the color reproduction everyone is talking about)

    The Samsung 3D monitor release should be interesting though, as should Sony’s.

  • 43 Eckomind // Apr 11, 2011 at 00:33

    Hello everyone,

    After spending some time with this new 3d display from Acer, I believe you guys deserve a little review. There are more positive points than there are cons. I will point out the strengths and weakness of this monitor. Then I will conclude with a short summary of my experience. First, are the positive points.

    Pros:

    1. Out of the box it has very good colors without needing to calibrate it.

    2. It has very high brightness. As a result, you can still see detail in darker areas when playing in 3d.

    3. It uses led back-lighting, which saves power and makes it more efficient.

    4. The size is very good for 3d use. The 3d effect is more impressive than on smaller 3d monitors.

    Now the cons:

    1. It can be too bright for standard use, such as web browsing or typing documents.

    2. This is not an ips panel. Not really much of a con for what it’s used for.

    3. The method for switching inputs is slow and tedious.

    4. Very little picture settings to play around with.

    This monitor is great for 3d applications. I used my ps3 and my pc to test the 3d capabilites of this monitor. The ps3 works good in 3d, but it didn’t impress me as much as nvidia’s solution on the pc. It seems the graphical quality in most games is taken down a few notches to compensate for the hardware not being good enough to handle games in 3d. Killzone 3 for example had lots of jagged edges and the texture quality was pretty low in 3d. The game that looked the best in 3d was Stardust HD. This game had no decrease in visual quality while in 3d, and the 3d effects were very impressive. The Uncharted 3 trailer in 3d looked good too. If you really want to experience what 3d is all about, you have to see it on the PC. World of Warcraft, Left for Dead 2, Burnout Paradise, Street Fighter 4, the Call of duty series all looked impressive on the PC. Not only that, but your games will also look 10 times better than on consoles. Blu-ray 3d’s looked amazing as well. Aliens vs Monsters came alive in 3d and felt more cinematic than it did in 2d. In conclusion, I recommend this monitor to anyone looking for the best 3d experience on the pc or for someone looking to hook up multiple 3d devices.

  • 44 Eckomind // Apr 11, 2011 at 00:49

    I forgot to add the last pro which is, the monitor has less crosstalk/ghosting than other 3d monitors. Sorry about that.

  • 45 H C Forde // Apr 11, 2011 at 05:05

    Thanks Ekcomind, I personally appreciate the time you spent informing me of your experience with this unit. I am going to share it with others.

  • 46 Eddie500 // Apr 11, 2011 at 05:57

    Hey everyone, I was thinking about buying this monitor because I don’t wait to wait ages for a 27″ 3d monitor. I was wondering if you think I should just buy this monitor now, or wait for other 3d monitors to hit the market?

    When do you expect other 3d monitors to actually hit the market in US?

  • 47 Eckomind // Apr 11, 2011 at 06:38

    You don’t need to ask people what you should buy. That’s not very good decision making. Anyways, I pulled the trigger on this model because it had everything I wanted. It’s 27 inches, uses led back-lighting, has built-in ir transmitter, and multiple connections for other devices. It even comes with 3d glasses, which cost 120 dollars alone. I think it’s a great value at 700 dollars. If you want to wait for something cheaper or better than wait. I couldn’t wait any longer. Good luck.

  • 48 Orbidia // Apr 11, 2011 at 08:55

    H C Forde: “The Samsung 3D monitor release should be interesting though, as should Sony’s.”

    I am unaware of any 3D Vision capable monitors coming from Sony. I’ve tried to Google for information about a future Sony 3D monitor that actually runs at 120hz. All I see are Sony TVs which only do HDMI 1.4a. Please give a link to any information about this Sony 3D monitor.

  • 49 H C Forde // Apr 11, 2011 at 16:35

    Eddie500,
    If it fits your needs buy NOW. There does appear to be a shortage of these panels see posts #317, #328, #324. When these are gone there is no telling when the next shipment will come in.

    If you can make all you want you promote it to convince others to buy it even when it may NOT have been on their radar. If there is a shortage there is no need to spend $$$ on advertisement and promotion of the item. Only “3dvision” was given a monitor to test for the whole world. Only one company in the US was given any HN274H to sell, Newegg, not Amazon. The best seller in each market seems to be given the product in that market.

    When ever has nVidia marketed a product like that especially a quality, ground-breaking(check out the reviews on Newegg) product such as this. Yes, it carries the name ACER but this product has nVidia “written” all over it.

    Again, if it fits what you need, buy now or you may have to wait for the next shipment and there is no telling when that may be. Hopefully production is ramping up as we speak. If that is true then we will see more retailers carrying the product in the near future.

    Orbidia,
    FIRST, let me say I am NOT officially connected with this blog, so if it does not come to pass do not say 3dvision gave you bad information. SECOND, keep your eyes open but do not hold your breath. That is all I can say right now.

  • 50 MJ // Apr 11, 2011 at 21:42

    I see your review on Newegg Dogor. My usual name is MikeArms24 or Stryker31, put my review on there as well. I looove the monitor now that I connected the adjustable vesa stand.

Leave a Comment