3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Review of the 27″ Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor

February 1st, 2011 · 627 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


Acer HN274H is going to be the first 27-inch 3D-capable 120Hz LCD monitor as well as the first one to feature support for both frame sequential stereo 3D over the Dual-Link DVI interface (used by Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology) as well as stereoscopic 3D support over the HDMI 1.4a interface (all three ports that the monitor has). The bigger size of the monitor as well as the enhanced support for using stereo 3D content from a PC, as well as consumer devices such as Playstation 3 console, a standalone Blu-ray 3D player or a 3D-capable Set-Top-Box is what is making it a very interesting product. You can say that this monitor can successfully compete with 3D HDTVs in some aspects, especially if you are looking for a more affordable 3D-capable display. But is the level of quality in stereo 3D mode comparable to that of a 3D-capable HDTV and is this new monitor better than the already available other 3D LCDs in terms of further reduced crosstalk/ghosting? These are just some of the questions that I’m going to try to answer here…



I’m starting with the unboxing video of the monitor that I’ve already posted a few days ago, you can watch it if you’ve missed it as it covers things like what is the monitor bundled with as well as what video input ports it has and where they are located. The 27-inch size of the display kind of makes it perfect to cover your whole vision while you are sitting in front of it in a normal way – like about 20 inches (50 centimeters) from it. So you can say that 27-inch is the perfect size for a 3D-capable computer monitor that you are going to use on a desk, for larger size you should consider a 3D-capable HDTV that will be sitting further away from you for the best possible experience. And then there is also a matter of the bandwidth requirements that are covered by the DL DVI interface at Full HD, but going a step further to lets say 2560×1600 would be a problem for 3D content transmission as well as providing enough FPS in games even with high-end GPUs. But let us see what are the specifications of the new Acer 3D display…


Acer HN274H Specifications:

Panel Size: 27″ (69 cm) Wide Screen 16:9, TN, LED backlight
Native Resolution: 1920×1080 pixels
Pixel Pitch: 0.3114 mm
Brightness(Max): 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 100,000,000:1 (dynamic)
Viewing Angles: 170° H / 160° V
Response Time: 2 ms (GtG)
Video Inputs: Dual-link DVI-D, VGA, 3x HDMI 1.4a
Power Consumption: 45W On, 1.7W Sleep, 0.65W Off/Standby
Integrated Audio: 2x 2W stereo speakers
Monitor stand: tilt +30°~-30°
Dimension (WxHxD): 25.5″ x 18.5″ x 7.6″ (648.1 x 468.5 x 192 mm)
Weight: 13.2 lbs (6 kg)

What I want to direct your attention to in the specifications is the maximum level of brightness that is rated at 300 cd/m2 and the maximum dynamic contrast ratio of 100 million to 1. You should have these values in mind so that you can compare to what I was able to measure during the testing of the display as there were some interesting difference, mostly int he level of brightness… but that of course also reflects on the contrast ratio. And one more thing, the dynamic contrast ratio is not available when you are using the 3D mode, it is automatically forced to off state no matter if you have activated it in 2D mode or not. The value of 100 million to 1 of course seems way too high, especially considering the fact that specialists say that after a certain number it is not only hard, but impossible to measure and that is something in between 1 to 5 million to one according to different sources. Still having a LED backlight with ability to independently control the LEDs behind the LCD panel and not edge LEDs can allow you to get higher dynamic contrast depending on what is being displayed. And just one more clarification as a lot of people are confused by this, there is no such thing as LED display, these are LCD displays with LED backlight instead of the more traditional CCFL backlight, but these are still LCD displays. Go ahead and blame the marketing on this confusion.



Not, lets take a quick look over the menu of the monitor and what options and settings you have available in both 2D and 3D mode. The two menus you see on the pictures above are the ones that are available to you in 2D mode, notice the contrast level is 50 and the color temperature is set to Warm (6500K). The dynamic contrast control function (ACM) is disabled by default, there is no option to control OverDrive from this menu (you can from the Service Menu, but more on that in a moment). The IR Mode option is there, because the display has a built in IR transmitter, but besides the Normal mode (on by default), the other Consumer and LAN modes do not change anything and they are not mentioned as something more specific…



Taking a photo in the infrared spectrum shows the integrated IR emitter in the top frame of the display, in the middle, without having to open the monitor to see it. Of course peeking through the plastic does not produce great image quality and level of detail, but it is enough to see what the emitter looks like and that it has four LEDs used to sen the synchronization signal to the active shutter glasses. The interesting thing is that since the IR emitter is integrated into the display, there is no need for the use of external device, but there is also no need to connect any USB cables between the monitor and the PC, no matter if you are sending 3D content over the DVI or the HDMI interface. Of course you can also use an external IR emitter should you need to, but plugging in such in the PC will disable the built-in one the same way as if you try to connect two emitters to the PC at the same time one gets disabled. The built-in IR emitter and the 3D Vision active shutter glasses that are bundled with the display are used for both when playing games in stereo 3D mode or viewing 3D content from your PC over the DL DVI interface and when using a 3D-capable consumer electronic device connected through HDMI 1.4a interface. Acer HN274H works just fine with 3DTV Play, although you should not need to use that when using your PC as you can get even 120Hz at 1080p resolution when using the DL DVI interface, so you don’t have to limit yourself to either 720p 50/60Hz or 1080p 24Hz 3D modes that the HDMI 1.4a supports for 3D. With that said you should not have trouble using even AMD-based video cards over the HDMI 1.4a interface just like you would with a 3D-capable HDTV with the 3D Vision glasses, so you can say that this monitor is kind of an universal solution. Console gamers should also be happy due to the fact that they can use PlayStaion 3 consoles in 3D mode together with this monitor, and it will work with standalone Blu-ray 3D players for watching movies and even for watching 3D TV with the help of a 3D-capable set-top-box. You should also be able to connect 3D-capable consumer cameras and camcorders to preview photos and videos you’ve taken in 3D and so on…



Now I’m going to take a quick look at the Service Menu as there is some interesting and important information that you cam find there and some more advanced users might want to play with the settings. However I should advice you to be careful what you are playing with in that menu and if you don’t know, you better not touch anything and just use the information provided to you like how many hours has the monitor been used. Below you will find a short guide on how to enter the Service Menu, I’m using the term “button” as besides the Power button all the rest are capacitive (tough) buttons and not physical ones.

Accessing the Service Menu on Acer HN274H LCD Monitor:

– Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button
– Press and hold the leftmost “button” and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor
– When you see the image on screen you can release the “button” and press the Menu button (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu
– When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode

The interesting find here is the LCD panel type used by Acer, it is an LGD LM270WF3 (made by LG), although I’ve had some suspicions that it might be from Samsung before actually checking the Service Menu. The previous 3D-capable LCD monitor form Acer (GD245HZ/GD235HQ) used a panel made by CMO (Chi Mei Optoelectronics). Samsung is also apparently going to soon have a 27-inch model that will most likely use their own panels, so that we are going to have some choice and competition. It is interesting to note however that LG still hasn’t announced their own 27-inch 3D-capable monitor to use their own panels that Acer apparently already is using for the upcoming 27-inch HN274H.



One thing that I’ve noticed right from the first moment I’ve turned on the monitor was that it was very bright, but measuring the color reproduction as well as the maximum level of brightness kind of surprised me. 492 cd/m2 as a maximum level of brightness when the specifications say 300 cd/m2 for the monitor kind of surprised me and at first I though there is some sort of a mistake, so I’ve repeated the measurements multiple times restarting the system and doing factory reset of the display settings. Int he end the results were all very close to the 500 cd/m2 mark, so I can assume that the monitor should actually be rated 500 cd/m2. This of course was measured with Contrast setting of 50 which is the default for 2D mode and in 3D mode the default setting is 40 which means a little less brightness, but still quite high at about 400 cd/m2. Lowering the Contrast setting to 0, the minimum level of brightness for the display, leaves the display still very bright at about 269 cd/m2 and this also leads to reduced level of crosstalk/ghosting. And when having such high level of brightness it is normal to have higher color deviations as you can see from the measurement results before doing a color calibration…



After doing a color calibration with a setting to preserve the maximum possible brightness the results were quite impressive with significantly reduced color deviations and actual color reproduction turning to be quite accurate while at the same time maintaining a maximum level of brightness of 395 cd/m2. And due to the high maximum brightness levels that the monitor has the level of the black was also a bit high at about 0.6 cd/m2 while the actual level of contrast measured was around 700:1. The monitor exhibits some input lag, the values measured vary from 0 to 16 ms with an average of about 8 ms, something which is quite good considering that most of the 3D-capable 120Hz monitors do have some input lag anyway. Next comes the question about backlight bleeding, the Acer unit I reviewed has very even backlight with no brighter areas at any of the sides, so the LED backlight is apparently used quite good.



I’m starting with one of my more recent tests using special photos for finding the level of crosstalk by going to black and white, the test photos are available here, so if you wish you can compare your monitor as well. As you can see performance is quite good as compared to other monitors, but there is still some crosstalk present (the red in the left corner is just a reflection in the glasses). Have in mind that this is a specially developed test to show the issue and actually does not represent the real usage scenarios, as there the situations are usually not as extreme as with the test photos. In this test I’ve noticed something familiar from the test of the Planar monitor and that is the slight gradation in the white as you can see on the left part of the image. At first this made me think that this is again a Samsung panel and that we have something happening with them having even backlight with OverDriver active, however seeing that Acer uses a new LG panel made me think otherwise…



After making another test, this time without shooting through the glasses’ lens with a black on white 3D test photo I saw a situation that very closely resembles that with the Planar SA2311W with the white not being evenly distributed, but gradating over different shades. Here as well increasing a bit the Contrast level from its default setting of 40 can help make the white seem more even and get rid of the gradation effect, but this can also increase the level of ghosting/crosstalk a bit. Disabling the OverDrive from the Service Menu did fix the problem as well, however this also leads to having more ghosting and you should not disable the OD in stereo 3D mode anyway. In the case with Planar’s monitor the gradation effect was hardly apparent in normal use, but with the Acer, probably due to the higher level of brightness there were some situations that I could see some side effects caused by it in real world use. I hope that panel and display manufacturers can take a note at this and find a solution, so that we won’t be seeing the issue anymore with the default settings on the display. Although you can usually see it only with some photos, that doesn’t mean that the problem should be there… as using the same extreme test photos on older models of 3D-capable LCDs the same problem with different gradation of the white was not present.



Moving to the the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, a real world crosstalk test to show you that the specific issue described above does not usually create any problems with normal use for stereo 3D content. Here there is almost no crosstalk/ghosting visible, although there is some slightly visible, but the end result is still very good, although it is probably slightly worse as compared to what most 3D HDTVs show as result here.



Moving to Tomb Raider: Underworld and one of my favorite scenes in the game that I use for checking the 3D monitors of the level of top and bottom ghosting due to the contrasting scenes that are more prone to having crosstalk/ghosting. Starting with the top ghosting, again good results with a very faint afterimage leaking at the top of the screen, although pretty close to the best performing in this test Planar monitor, the Acer’s ghosting is slightly more apparent, probably die to the increased level of brightness.



Moving to the bottom screen crosstalk/ghosting test, again by using the game Tomb Raider: Underworld, this time looking for color ghosting… another issue that is caused by the OverDrive function that leads to pixels not appearing as faint dark shadows in terms of crosstalk, but as much more apparent brightly colored afterimage. Again good results, very close to the results provided by the best performing in the test for now Planar monitor, although the color ghosting is a bit more apparent here as well, again probably due to the higher maximum brightness of the Acer.

I should state the fact that I don’t yet have information about exact release date and price of the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor, but if I have to guess it will most likely be available at end of February, beginning of March. And the prices could be something around $600 USD and 500 Euro as the monitor comes bundled with a pair of glasses and an integrated IR emitter. Do have in mind that these is not official information, but something that I’m assuming as a possibility, so the actual date and price can be different, but these mentioned by me above do sound reasonable… I’ve got some official information regarding the pricing and availability of the 27″ Acer HN274H with my initial forecast being close to the official numbers. The monitor should be available by the end of February with a suggested price of 689€ (Euro) for Europe and probably the same amount, but in US dollars for the North American markets. So the wait for it won’t be long…

In terms of features, the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor does a great job in offering the flexibility you’d expect with a 3D-capable solution that will work not only with your computer, but also with consumer electronic devices. The Acer HN274H comes not only as a good solution for gaming in stereo 3D mode on your PC with 3D Vision, but also for using with multiple consumer electronic devices that do support S3D, and the three HDMI 1.4a ports make it easier to have multiple devices connected at the same time. In terms of performance, the Acer did have some good and some not so good surprises in stock, but you should have in mind that I’m reviewing an earlier sample of the monitor, so the final production units might be better. The level of crosstalk/ghosting in stereo 3D mode is just slightly more than the Planar SA2311W which is still providing the best results. The reason that the Acer monitor has slightly more ghosting as compared to Planar is most likely due to the higher maximum level of brightness that the Acer has as compared to Planar, but all the tests I’m doing are at the default factory settings of the displays, so you can know what to expect out of the box. In overall, the 27-inch Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD monitor is a great choice for everyone considering a bigger and more flexible (supporting not only 3D Vision on PC) 3D-capable monitor with the idea to use it with more different stereoscopic 3D devices, including consumer electronics. Not to mention that it can be considered as a good 3D HDTV alternative, smaller in size, but also more affordable and flexible as it supports 120Hz at 1080p on your PC, unlike all of the currently available 3D HDTVs ;)

Tags: ···········


627 responses so far ↓

  • 1 gadget78 // Apr 16, 2011 at 01:08

    @Victor is that a confirmed within the week ??? were’s this from ?

  • 2 KashunatoR // Apr 16, 2011 at 01:25

    @EagleSH
    i would buy gtx 580 if i were you. i’ve also had gtx 570 so i know what i am talkin’ about. buy one gtx 580 and if you are still not pleased buy the second one, like i did. bear in mind though you will need a very powerful cpu (i7 2600k @ 5ghz) to take full of advantage of the gtx 580 sli. i have the i7 920 @ 4.2 ghz and sometimes i run into cpu bottleneck. you should also have a 1000W psu. i hope this helped

  • 3 EagleSH // Apr 16, 2011 at 01:33

    @KashunatoR
    Thanks man, in my case i have i7 930@4.2 and 1000w psu – sense to buy 580s? or to be limited 570s?

  • 4 MJ // Apr 16, 2011 at 01:45

    Lately the only bottleneck in my computer has been the games themselves. Bulletstorm was a pleasant surprise, especially on this monitor. Definitely looking forward to battlefield 3.

  • 5 Eckomind // Apr 16, 2011 at 02:45

    @Kashunator — You don’t need a 1,000 watt psu for sli 580’s. Even with an overclocked cpu, an 850 watt psu will suffice with extra power to spare. You would only need 1,000 watt if you wanted to add a third one in sli.

  • 6 KashunatoR // Apr 16, 2011 at 03:22

    850W psu is the lower limit for this sli and it’s always best to keep a cushion and the psu will be quieter. this way you can afford to overclock both cpu and the gpus. i don’t regret adding the second card and i think neither would you. an OCed gtx 570 is a little bit better than a stock gtx 580. but it has a frail pcb compared to the gtx 580 and might not last long. the bottleneck is not big, but i wanted to point out its existence. you’ll need some serious horsepower if you want to run games in 3d at maximum graphical settings .

  • 7 PCStory // Apr 16, 2011 at 07:11

    I don,t know how the cpu, HDD, and Ram cost in power, but according to this graphic, i think that 850 watt is enough.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX_580_Lightning/21.html

  • 8 Orbidia // Apr 16, 2011 at 10:41

    Does anyone know if the new Asus 27″ is glossy? In the picture, it looks like it has a glossy bezel but a matte screen…

  • 9 JCT1875 // Apr 16, 2011 at 11:00

    I’d only wish for my soon to be delivered HN274H to have been glossy vs. matte as the picture clarity and contrast is so much better. I’d take glossy over matte any day of the week!

  • 10 Eckomind // Apr 16, 2011 at 12:21

    I prefer matte over a glossy display. @Orbidia — If it’s the same as the 23″ asus that was released last year, it probably has a glossy screen.

  • 11 H C Forde // Apr 16, 2011 at 20:50

    As GPU’s and CPU’s become more efficient the power requirements for better performing components is being lowered. I bought an 850 watt for my dual 5970’s and I have power to spare. A GOOD 850Watt PSU should be plenty.

    In the Matte vs Glossy debate it all depends on the placement of the screen. I would prefer a Glossy in a 27″ 3D screen, but I have a nice, protected from glare, home for it.

  • 12 Urik // Apr 17, 2011 at 01:16

    I SOO WISH IT WAS AVAILABLE ALREADY!!!
    And, this one is definitely matte, can be seen in the end of unboxing.

  • 13 gadget78 // Apr 17, 2011 at 20:13

    shame there s STILL absalutly no news on the LG E70V range as this would be the only other Monitor i would be interested in (its IPS too) i presuming that no one else knows nother more than a bief spec ??

  • 14 H C Forde // Apr 17, 2011 at 22:14

    gadget78;
    That would be interesting to look at considering LG makes the panels for the ACER. There is little info on any of these other monitors though. The picture I have seen of the ASUS make it still look like it is a prototype.

    Glossy VS Matte:
    The Samsung S27A950 appears to be a glossy panel AND the unit comes with Displayport. This make them the prime candidate to offer a higher resolution monitor in the near future. Capabilities of the unit are difficult to come by most likely due to the issues Japan is having.

    I have finished CRYSIS 2 a number of times without S3D. Now that the passion has diminished a bit I can more easily wait for other monitors (3D) to show up and show me their specs. In my opinion the ACER is still the one to beat mostly because of the brightness. If the others have more features, but the screen can not be seen well in S3D then what is the point?

    Still funny though how Acer kept the Press releases back until ASUS announced and then Samsung made their announcement all in just a few hours of each other. If LG can produce enough panels now that would be great for competition.

  • 15 gadget78 // Apr 17, 2011 at 23:48

    shame they cannot produce enough for there self ! As the pics ive seen for the LG E70V , i think i prefer that loook of monitor/stand than i do the acer :(

  • 16 Eckomind // Apr 18, 2011 at 00:59

    The asus 3d monitor looks real. I heard it’s supposed to be released this summer. I wonder if it will be height adjustable like the 23 in. The Samsung monitors are real too, but I’m not sure when they will make it to the U.S. I heard they will be out next month but who knows. I’m more interested to know how they fare in 3d with crosstalk/ghosting. I guess I’ll have to wait for bloody’s awesome reviews.

  • 17 Wandatin // Apr 18, 2011 at 04:03

    I received the Acer HN274H from Newegg a few days ago, but I’m waiting for the rest of my computer hardware to arrive before I can use it (I’m using an iMac now).

    I’ve got a question about something I see on the specifications sheet in the manual. It lists the V-Frequency as 56-75 Hz (2D); 56-120 Hz (3D). Does this mean it only runs at a maximum of 75 Hz when using it in 2D without the glasses?

  • 18 Eckomind // Apr 18, 2011 at 06:13

    I just found the Samsung T27a950 on sale on ebay. The monitor ships from korea. It costs $979.99. http://cgi.ebay.com/SAMSUNG-T27A950-27-Smart-HD-TV-3D-Monitor-3D-Glasses-/110670365260?pt=Computer_Monitors&hash=item19c477c24c

  • 19 H C Forde // Apr 18, 2011 at 10:46

    I use to do plastic injection molding. The top where the emitter is looks like a prototype part.

  • 20 Eckomind // Apr 18, 2011 at 11:06

    I think it’s real. It looks similar to another asus monitor with a built-in webcam. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236101

  • 21 KashunatoR // Apr 18, 2011 at 11:51

    is the samsung t27a950 using sa same 3D technology as the acer hn 274h? is it 3d vision ready?

  • 22 Eckomind // Apr 18, 2011 at 11:55

    Newegg has 20 dollars off and free shipping for this monitor with a promotional code. Type in the code box ACER3DLED to apply the coupon. Too bad I couldn’t wait.

  • 23 Eckomind // Apr 18, 2011 at 21:28

    @Kashunator — It looks like the t27a950 doesn’t support dual-link dvi. So you will have to hook up the pc via hdmi 1.4 and use the nvidia 3dtv play software.

  • 24 snuggles // Apr 18, 2011 at 21:40

    You know, the msrp for this unit is supposed to be 679, and most places provide free shipping on purchases of this type and cost.

    I loved newegg back in “the day”, but to be honest, their customer service, prices, and return policies are just. not. that. good. They’ve got great selection, and obviously have the clout to get exclusives such as this display, but I’ve really started to be disgusted by them.

    I’m waiting for it to be available on amazon, or at a local shop.

  • 25 Rhialto // Apr 18, 2011 at 22:53

    Dimension (WxHxD): 25.5″ x 18.5″ x 7.6″

    What’s full height including stand?

    Still no place to buy in Canada?

  • 26 H C Forde // Apr 18, 2011 at 22:54

    Ekomind,

    You are within your 30 day return policy. See if they will at least give you a credit toward a future purchase. I don’t like how they had this for $699.99 and saying it was a $20 discount from $719.99 from DAY ONE. Then the MSRP from the ACER’s press release puts it at $689.99. Now they want to look like good guys and offer it at $679.99.

    On the Samsung, it does however support Displayport and some Nvidia cards are now coming with Displayport connections. I have AMD cards so it may be a blessing in disguise for me. We just don’t know how it works with AMD vs Nvidia cards. It seems to me that a monitor driver is all that would be required and that cannot be too hard to write.

  • 27 Eckomind // Apr 19, 2011 at 04:25

    Nvidia just released 270.61 whql certified drivers. These drivers helped me fix an issue with the monitor not entering 3d mode correctly in some games.

  • 28 Lucidkill // Apr 19, 2011 at 07:47

    Eckomind, did it fix the stuck brightness issue?

  • 29 se7endeu2e // Apr 19, 2011 at 10:06

    i usually never post on forums but you guys seem to know your stuff so here it goes. this will be my first post ever. i already have a 42″ panny plasma 720p and a 32″ sony ex720 3dtv as a computer monitor. looking to replace either or.

    3 choices:

    1) http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-46WX800U-46-Inch-1080p-Cinema/dp/B00447I8Y0/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1303196108&sr=1-1

    2) http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-VIERA-TC-L32DT30-32-Inch-1080p/dp/B004MME75G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1303196065&sr=8-1

    3) or the hn274h

    which one would u guys pick? all of them are 120hz or 240hz and 3d. only the acer being able to do 1080p 3d @ 120hz. 3d is the best on the panasonic. and the 46″ i want, merely cuz of size and features for its price. soap opera effect is also a plus for me. is it possible to get soap opera effect on the acer with interpolation software?

  • 30 Rhialto // Apr 19, 2011 at 17:15

    NEW REVIEW!

    NOT the same result…

    http://www.digitalversus.com/acer-hn274h-p357_10872_38.html

  • 31 Anathema // Apr 19, 2011 at 21:39

    Strange review, they mention this ghosting as an issue. No one here on the forum experiences this and this isn’t an issue anyway on moninors nowadays.
    This reviews even says the contrary about ghosting:
    http://www.blitzreview.com/monitor/acer-hn274h.html
    Better than GN245HQ in that respect..

    Input lag is much more important and this is low fortunately as mentioned also in that first review.

  • 32 Rhialto // Apr 19, 2011 at 22:45

    @Anathema

    The review you talk about also say some ghosting problems.

    “”Sincerely, before our tests we’ve expected more from this model, but this 27 inch model is not able to fight against its 24 inch brother 3D GN245HQ (with very good results in tests). Even (if) the model is special adapted for the games and the brightness is excellent in 3D mode, the display shows some ghosting problems. The Acer HN274H can be a good choice but we can advice you to choose it’s little 24 inch brother: GN245HQ.””

    I was about to look for that monitor but now I have doubt. I want to avoid ghosting and hope for colour reproduction to be more accurate than what they have found.

  • 33 Rhialto // Apr 19, 2011 at 22:49

    About the other review with the link I provided, I’ve sent them an email. They usually check the panel type and manufacturer and I don’t know why they haven’t this time. I’m curious if there could be 2 different panel type used for that monitor.

    I don’t know if I hope or hope not. I think I hope so that could explain why they had such result but then it gets very complicated to buy and make sure you have the good one.

    I’ll tell you if they either reply or update the review.

  • 34 MJ // Apr 20, 2011 at 00:11

    looks like it’s sold out now at newegg

  • 35 Anathema // Apr 20, 2011 at 00:51

    @Rhialto, Yes but I got the impression from your review that they talked about regular ghosting in 2D mode in that it was 15 ms.

    The review I linked to states the following:
    “If you are a gamer, the 2D mode of this monitor will be a good surprise for you, even if you play fast games. Our tests revealed values of about 4 ms for the response time of the monitor. Compared with its brother: GN245HQ, this new model has a lower response time of the image”

    In 3D mode they indeed do say that there is more ghosting on the HN274H. But well, I cannot compare that myself as this is my first 3DVison monitor. I don’t see ghosting and have never experienced what Crosstalk really looks like. Never seen it on this screen…

    But I have to admit after using this a while that I am a bit disappointed in 3D in general. It’s a very nice effect, but too tiring to the eyes for long gaming sessions so 2D performance, which fortunately is excellent at 120hz with low input lag, is still very important for me.

  • 36 MJ // Apr 20, 2011 at 01:17

    Got an email from Speed 3d that said they are in stock for UK, I knew some of you were waiting on them, so I told him to post here.

  • 37 Eckomind // Apr 20, 2011 at 01:49

    @lucidkill — My monitor doesn’t have the brightness stuck issue with the latest drivers from nvidia. I can’t believe how bad the reviews are for this monitor. I don’t even see the ghosting they talk about in those reviews. The contrast is probably not that good because of it’s very high brightness so it lightens the blacks a bit. But when you’re in 3d, you will appreciate the extra brightness. On another note, I don’t get headaches from playing in 3d. I guess some people might be more sensitive to it. I suggest people new to the 3d experience start off at 15% depth and work their way up slowly. I have mine at 30% and I can play games on it for a few hours without any headaches. Good luck and take care everyone.

  • 38 Lucidkill // Apr 20, 2011 at 14:25

    I have observed a bit of crosstalk while setting up 3D Vision and watching the credits on the Imax movie “Under the Sea” on this Acer monitor. However, once you tweak the contrast , brightness, and color settings, these annoyances disappear. And it is still better than my last Asus 24 inch 3D monitor out of box for crosstalk elimination.

    Also, the viewing angle affects crosstalk as well. In my small office, there is probably only room for up to 3 people to watch 3d from the correct viewing angle on the Acer monitor without crosstalk annoyances.

    One thing that jumped out at me when reading these new reviews linked is that the hdmi 1.4 can only do 720p in 3D? I don’t have a PS3 or blu-ray player to test this out. But, I wonder how 720p will look on this monitor.

    Also, the inclusion of displayport inputs on the new Samsung monitors sounds promising, especially for AMD users. But will the 27 inch Samsung be 3D Vision compliant?

  • 39 H C Forde // Apr 20, 2011 at 17:09

    Rhialto:
    Maybe that is why they are more available, they sourced another panel. I hope not, but it has happened before. I have 6 SOYO 24″ monitors I bought about 3 years ago. They started with MVA panels then switched to TN panels. I had purchased 4 before the switch and then scrambled to different retail locations that were carrying them to get 2 more of the MVA panels.

    Lucidkill:
    I was also wondering about the compatibility of nVidia and AMD with the new Samsung’s as posted in #481. The glasses may not be compatible but it would seem that with the video cards it is simply a driver issue. Will nVidia maintain its proprietary stance as it has with Physx? If Samsung should happen to write the drivers for either or both companies then what happens when new games come out, will they continue to write/update drivers?

  • 40 Bloody // Apr 20, 2011 at 20:04

    Still no information if the new Samsung monitors will be officially 3D Vision ready, it is also possible for Samsung to do something like Sony did with their Vaio F Series 3D laptop… useing 3D Vision technology, but with their own shutter glasses.

  • 41 gadget78 // Apr 20, 2011 at 20:34

    Ordered via Speed3d, I am quietly hoping to gets it before sat, as i have a LAN party, and would be great to show it off !!!

    is there any news on the LG as yet ??
    as i so hope when it does finally hit market/review its as basic as it sounds (no dual link DVI etc)!
    as would be most cheesed off if it has like freeview or other digital service built in (it is said to have a tuner you see), and Dual link DVI etc
    As there was a small part of me saying i should wait !
    But i just could’nt wait any longer for something else to hit market, been waiting since nov last year for this one !!!

  • 42 PCStory // Apr 20, 2011 at 23:35

    I guess the new samsung monitor will work with 3dvision if you buy the emitter and the 3dvision glasses, but the samsung glasses and emiter won’t work with 3dvision.

    But this is only a guess…

  • 43 Eckomind // Apr 21, 2011 at 01:18

    I just saw some of The Ultimate Wave Tahiti in 3d, and it looked amazing. I saw almost no crosstalk and the depth was amazing. It felt like you were there looking through a window into another part of the planet. Really cool, and I highly recommend this movie to anyone interested in 3d stuff.

  • 44 Rob // Apr 21, 2011 at 01:56

    gadget78 – Speed3d guys called me later today and said they actually have an issue with supplying them and probably won’t be able to dispatch them this week. Though they will confirm tomorrow morning…

  • 45 Wizler // Apr 21, 2011 at 04:02

    I hope it´s good! Ordered from Germany..

    599,- euroes ~ i expect nothing less than total awesomeness!

    Switching from Samsung 2232bw (1680×1050)

  • 46 H C Forde // Apr 21, 2011 at 04:26

    Does anyone know how to access the data on these that tell what LCD panels are put into them?

  • 47 Bloody // Apr 21, 2011 at 10:06

    H C Forde, read again the article above, not only the comments… I’ve included a short guide on how to access the service menu and check the panel type. ;)

  • 48 gadget78 // Apr 21, 2011 at 12:40

    @Rob :( ive not had a call/email saying that theres any problems, but its not listed as shipped yet on google checkout :( hope they only had a small easy to overcome problem ! as i was so hoping for it to arrive sat or before, because of my LAN party ! (and for the long weekend break !)

  • 49 PaulAtreides // Apr 21, 2011 at 13:09

    Hi Bloody,
    How do you explain that all the other reviews on the HN274H are so bad, while yours was mostly positive? I am really concerned about these crosstalk issues…
    Thanks

  • 50 Bloody // Apr 21, 2011 at 13:41

    Paul, I really liked the monitor and performance it offers compared to the competitive 3D products that I’ve already tested extensively and also published reviews here on the blog. It is among the best 3D-capable 3D Vision monitors for 3D… for 2D there might be better and cheaper alternatives, but buying 3D monitor for 3D you should be most concerned about its 3D performance, right? In other reviews they focus mostly on the monitor quality and performance in 2D mode and go just a bit about the 3D…

    If you check the comments from readers here that already bought the monitor, some of which had older 3D monitors before, you will see that they are mostly positive. It is not perfect, there are some issues, but they are more like a limitation of the current level of technology. You need to be aware and expect these to a certain level if you are following the development of 3D LCD monitors over the time and not expect a perfect product out of the box in order to write a positive review. You need to compare it to what you already have available on the market as alternatives and not to your vision about what it should be.

Leave a Comment