3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Review of the 27″ Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor

February 1st, 2011 · 627 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


Acer HN274H is going to be the first 27-inch 3D-capable 120Hz LCD monitor as well as the first one to feature support for both frame sequential stereo 3D over the Dual-Link DVI interface (used by Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology) as well as stereoscopic 3D support over the HDMI 1.4a interface (all three ports that the monitor has). The bigger size of the monitor as well as the enhanced support for using stereo 3D content from a PC, as well as consumer devices such as Playstation 3 console, a standalone Blu-ray 3D player or a 3D-capable Set-Top-Box is what is making it a very interesting product. You can say that this monitor can successfully compete with 3D HDTVs in some aspects, especially if you are looking for a more affordable 3D-capable display. But is the level of quality in stereo 3D mode comparable to that of a 3D-capable HDTV and is this new monitor better than the already available other 3D LCDs in terms of further reduced crosstalk/ghosting? These are just some of the questions that I’m going to try to answer here…



I’m starting with the unboxing video of the monitor that I’ve already posted a few days ago, you can watch it if you’ve missed it as it covers things like what is the monitor bundled with as well as what video input ports it has and where they are located. The 27-inch size of the display kind of makes it perfect to cover your whole vision while you are sitting in front of it in a normal way – like about 20 inches (50 centimeters) from it. So you can say that 27-inch is the perfect size for a 3D-capable computer monitor that you are going to use on a desk, for larger size you should consider a 3D-capable HDTV that will be sitting further away from you for the best possible experience. And then there is also a matter of the bandwidth requirements that are covered by the DL DVI interface at Full HD, but going a step further to lets say 2560×1600 would be a problem for 3D content transmission as well as providing enough FPS in games even with high-end GPUs. But let us see what are the specifications of the new Acer 3D display…


Acer HN274H Specifications:

Panel Size: 27″ (69 cm) Wide Screen 16:9, TN, LED backlight
Native Resolution: 1920×1080 pixels
Pixel Pitch: 0.3114 mm
Brightness(Max): 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 100,000,000:1 (dynamic)
Viewing Angles: 170° H / 160° V
Response Time: 2 ms (GtG)
Video Inputs: Dual-link DVI-D, VGA, 3x HDMI 1.4a
Power Consumption: 45W On, 1.7W Sleep, 0.65W Off/Standby
Integrated Audio: 2x 2W stereo speakers
Monitor stand: tilt +30°~-30°
Dimension (WxHxD): 25.5″ x 18.5″ x 7.6″ (648.1 x 468.5 x 192 mm)
Weight: 13.2 lbs (6 kg)

What I want to direct your attention to in the specifications is the maximum level of brightness that is rated at 300 cd/m2 and the maximum dynamic contrast ratio of 100 million to 1. You should have these values in mind so that you can compare to what I was able to measure during the testing of the display as there were some interesting difference, mostly int he level of brightness… but that of course also reflects on the contrast ratio. And one more thing, the dynamic contrast ratio is not available when you are using the 3D mode, it is automatically forced to off state no matter if you have activated it in 2D mode or not. The value of 100 million to 1 of course seems way too high, especially considering the fact that specialists say that after a certain number it is not only hard, but impossible to measure and that is something in between 1 to 5 million to one according to different sources. Still having a LED backlight with ability to independently control the LEDs behind the LCD panel and not edge LEDs can allow you to get higher dynamic contrast depending on what is being displayed. And just one more clarification as a lot of people are confused by this, there is no such thing as LED display, these are LCD displays with LED backlight instead of the more traditional CCFL backlight, but these are still LCD displays. Go ahead and blame the marketing on this confusion.



Not, lets take a quick look over the menu of the monitor and what options and settings you have available in both 2D and 3D mode. The two menus you see on the pictures above are the ones that are available to you in 2D mode, notice the contrast level is 50 and the color temperature is set to Warm (6500K). The dynamic contrast control function (ACM) is disabled by default, there is no option to control OverDrive from this menu (you can from the Service Menu, but more on that in a moment). The IR Mode option is there, because the display has a built in IR transmitter, but besides the Normal mode (on by default), the other Consumer and LAN modes do not change anything and they are not mentioned as something more specific…



Taking a photo in the infrared spectrum shows the integrated IR emitter in the top frame of the display, in the middle, without having to open the monitor to see it. Of course peeking through the plastic does not produce great image quality and level of detail, but it is enough to see what the emitter looks like and that it has four LEDs used to sen the synchronization signal to the active shutter glasses. The interesting thing is that since the IR emitter is integrated into the display, there is no need for the use of external device, but there is also no need to connect any USB cables between the monitor and the PC, no matter if you are sending 3D content over the DVI or the HDMI interface. Of course you can also use an external IR emitter should you need to, but plugging in such in the PC will disable the built-in one the same way as if you try to connect two emitters to the PC at the same time one gets disabled. The built-in IR emitter and the 3D Vision active shutter glasses that are bundled with the display are used for both when playing games in stereo 3D mode or viewing 3D content from your PC over the DL DVI interface and when using a 3D-capable consumer electronic device connected through HDMI 1.4a interface. Acer HN274H works just fine with 3DTV Play, although you should not need to use that when using your PC as you can get even 120Hz at 1080p resolution when using the DL DVI interface, so you don’t have to limit yourself to either 720p 50/60Hz or 1080p 24Hz 3D modes that the HDMI 1.4a supports for 3D. With that said you should not have trouble using even AMD-based video cards over the HDMI 1.4a interface just like you would with a 3D-capable HDTV with the 3D Vision glasses, so you can say that this monitor is kind of an universal solution. Console gamers should also be happy due to the fact that they can use PlayStaion 3 consoles in 3D mode together with this monitor, and it will work with standalone Blu-ray 3D players for watching movies and even for watching 3D TV with the help of a 3D-capable set-top-box. You should also be able to connect 3D-capable consumer cameras and camcorders to preview photos and videos you’ve taken in 3D and so on…



Now I’m going to take a quick look at the Service Menu as there is some interesting and important information that you cam find there and some more advanced users might want to play with the settings. However I should advice you to be careful what you are playing with in that menu and if you don’t know, you better not touch anything and just use the information provided to you like how many hours has the monitor been used. Below you will find a short guide on how to enter the Service Menu, I’m using the term “button” as besides the Power button all the rest are capacitive (tough) buttons and not physical ones.

Accessing the Service Menu on Acer HN274H LCD Monitor:

– Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button
– Press and hold the leftmost “button” and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor
– When you see the image on screen you can release the “button” and press the Menu button (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu
– When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode

The interesting find here is the LCD panel type used by Acer, it is an LGD LM270WF3 (made by LG), although I’ve had some suspicions that it might be from Samsung before actually checking the Service Menu. The previous 3D-capable LCD monitor form Acer (GD245HZ/GD235HQ) used a panel made by CMO (Chi Mei Optoelectronics). Samsung is also apparently going to soon have a 27-inch model that will most likely use their own panels, so that we are going to have some choice and competition. It is interesting to note however that LG still hasn’t announced their own 27-inch 3D-capable monitor to use their own panels that Acer apparently already is using for the upcoming 27-inch HN274H.



One thing that I’ve noticed right from the first moment I’ve turned on the monitor was that it was very bright, but measuring the color reproduction as well as the maximum level of brightness kind of surprised me. 492 cd/m2 as a maximum level of brightness when the specifications say 300 cd/m2 for the monitor kind of surprised me and at first I though there is some sort of a mistake, so I’ve repeated the measurements multiple times restarting the system and doing factory reset of the display settings. Int he end the results were all very close to the 500 cd/m2 mark, so I can assume that the monitor should actually be rated 500 cd/m2. This of course was measured with Contrast setting of 50 which is the default for 2D mode and in 3D mode the default setting is 40 which means a little less brightness, but still quite high at about 400 cd/m2. Lowering the Contrast setting to 0, the minimum level of brightness for the display, leaves the display still very bright at about 269 cd/m2 and this also leads to reduced level of crosstalk/ghosting. And when having such high level of brightness it is normal to have higher color deviations as you can see from the measurement results before doing a color calibration…



After doing a color calibration with a setting to preserve the maximum possible brightness the results were quite impressive with significantly reduced color deviations and actual color reproduction turning to be quite accurate while at the same time maintaining a maximum level of brightness of 395 cd/m2. And due to the high maximum brightness levels that the monitor has the level of the black was also a bit high at about 0.6 cd/m2 while the actual level of contrast measured was around 700:1. The monitor exhibits some input lag, the values measured vary from 0 to 16 ms with an average of about 8 ms, something which is quite good considering that most of the 3D-capable 120Hz monitors do have some input lag anyway. Next comes the question about backlight bleeding, the Acer unit I reviewed has very even backlight with no brighter areas at any of the sides, so the LED backlight is apparently used quite good.



I’m starting with one of my more recent tests using special photos for finding the level of crosstalk by going to black and white, the test photos are available here, so if you wish you can compare your monitor as well. As you can see performance is quite good as compared to other monitors, but there is still some crosstalk present (the red in the left corner is just a reflection in the glasses). Have in mind that this is a specially developed test to show the issue and actually does not represent the real usage scenarios, as there the situations are usually not as extreme as with the test photos. In this test I’ve noticed something familiar from the test of the Planar monitor and that is the slight gradation in the white as you can see on the left part of the image. At first this made me think that this is again a Samsung panel and that we have something happening with them having even backlight with OverDriver active, however seeing that Acer uses a new LG panel made me think otherwise…



After making another test, this time without shooting through the glasses’ lens with a black on white 3D test photo I saw a situation that very closely resembles that with the Planar SA2311W with the white not being evenly distributed, but gradating over different shades. Here as well increasing a bit the Contrast level from its default setting of 40 can help make the white seem more even and get rid of the gradation effect, but this can also increase the level of ghosting/crosstalk a bit. Disabling the OverDrive from the Service Menu did fix the problem as well, however this also leads to having more ghosting and you should not disable the OD in stereo 3D mode anyway. In the case with Planar’s monitor the gradation effect was hardly apparent in normal use, but with the Acer, probably due to the higher level of brightness there were some situations that I could see some side effects caused by it in real world use. I hope that panel and display manufacturers can take a note at this and find a solution, so that we won’t be seeing the issue anymore with the default settings on the display. Although you can usually see it only with some photos, that doesn’t mean that the problem should be there… as using the same extreme test photos on older models of 3D-capable LCDs the same problem with different gradation of the white was not present.



Moving to the the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, a real world crosstalk test to show you that the specific issue described above does not usually create any problems with normal use for stereo 3D content. Here there is almost no crosstalk/ghosting visible, although there is some slightly visible, but the end result is still very good, although it is probably slightly worse as compared to what most 3D HDTVs show as result here.



Moving to Tomb Raider: Underworld and one of my favorite scenes in the game that I use for checking the 3D monitors of the level of top and bottom ghosting due to the contrasting scenes that are more prone to having crosstalk/ghosting. Starting with the top ghosting, again good results with a very faint afterimage leaking at the top of the screen, although pretty close to the best performing in this test Planar monitor, the Acer’s ghosting is slightly more apparent, probably die to the increased level of brightness.



Moving to the bottom screen crosstalk/ghosting test, again by using the game Tomb Raider: Underworld, this time looking for color ghosting… another issue that is caused by the OverDrive function that leads to pixels not appearing as faint dark shadows in terms of crosstalk, but as much more apparent brightly colored afterimage. Again good results, very close to the results provided by the best performing in the test for now Planar monitor, although the color ghosting is a bit more apparent here as well, again probably due to the higher maximum brightness of the Acer.

I should state the fact that I don’t yet have information about exact release date and price of the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor, but if I have to guess it will most likely be available at end of February, beginning of March. And the prices could be something around $600 USD and 500 Euro as the monitor comes bundled with a pair of glasses and an integrated IR emitter. Do have in mind that these is not official information, but something that I’m assuming as a possibility, so the actual date and price can be different, but these mentioned by me above do sound reasonable… I’ve got some official information regarding the pricing and availability of the 27″ Acer HN274H with my initial forecast being close to the official numbers. The monitor should be available by the end of February with a suggested price of 689€ (Euro) for Europe and probably the same amount, but in US dollars for the North American markets. So the wait for it won’t be long…

In terms of features, the 27″ Acer HN274H monitor does a great job in offering the flexibility you’d expect with a 3D-capable solution that will work not only with your computer, but also with consumer electronic devices. The Acer HN274H comes not only as a good solution for gaming in stereo 3D mode on your PC with 3D Vision, but also for using with multiple consumer electronic devices that do support S3D, and the three HDMI 1.4a ports make it easier to have multiple devices connected at the same time. In terms of performance, the Acer did have some good and some not so good surprises in stock, but you should have in mind that I’m reviewing an earlier sample of the monitor, so the final production units might be better. The level of crosstalk/ghosting in stereo 3D mode is just slightly more than the Planar SA2311W which is still providing the best results. The reason that the Acer monitor has slightly more ghosting as compared to Planar is most likely due to the higher maximum level of brightness that the Acer has as compared to Planar, but all the tests I’m doing are at the default factory settings of the displays, so you can know what to expect out of the box. In overall, the 27-inch Acer HN274H 3D Vision-ready LCD monitor is a great choice for everyone considering a bigger and more flexible (supporting not only 3D Vision on PC) 3D-capable monitor with the idea to use it with more different stereoscopic 3D devices, including consumer electronics. Not to mention that it can be considered as a good 3D HDTV alternative, smaller in size, but also more affordable and flexible as it supports 120Hz at 1080p on your PC, unlike all of the currently available 3D HDTVs ;)

Tags: ···········


627 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Gerard // Feb 1, 2011 at 00:48

    Is this only a 3D Vision monitor? Will it also work with ATI and Monster Vision 3D Max glasses?

  • 2 Cablez // Feb 1, 2011 at 00:56

    Great and detailed review Bloody! You certainly know your stuff. This might be a silly question, if I intend to use this as a primary PC monitor, do I need a regular HDMI cable or a DL DVI cable to run 1080p at 120hz?

    I was under the impression any HDMI cable would do but I could be wrong.

    Thanks!

  • 3 Bloody // Feb 1, 2011 at 00:58

    It is a 3D Vision and HDMI 1.4a monitor, it comes bundled with 3D Vision glasses and has a 3D vision IR emitter built-in. It might work with AMD GPUs over HDMI 1.4a only, it is not compatible otherwise. The Monster Vision 3D Max glasses are currently not supported by 3D Vision, iZ3D or TriDef software and cannot be used with any of these.

    For 120Hz in 2D or 3D mode you need to use a DL DVI cable, HDMI can only push up to 60Hz at 1080p 2D mode or 24Hz 3D mode at 1080p resolution. You get the monitor bundled with both a Dual-Link DVI and an HDMI cable.

  • 4 Phawx // Feb 1, 2011 at 01:00

    Did you do any actual tests on AMD HD5x/6x cards to see if it would work?

  • 5 Bloody // Feb 1, 2011 at 01:07

    Not yet, I will tomorrow to confirm, although it should most likely work without problems…

  • 6 heriT // Feb 1, 2011 at 01:19

    0-16ms input lag:(
    Had you overdrive disabled when you tested the inpt lag?

  • 7 Jacob Pederson // Feb 1, 2011 at 01:30

    It’s been said above, but the quality and quantity of work you put out for the 3d community is simply incredible :)

    I probly will be picking this up so that I can give some PS3 3D games a try (not to mention activate SLI again); however the Mitsubishi DLP is going to remain my main screen because the level of ghosting on that is for all practical purposes, zero.

  • 8 eqzitara // Feb 1, 2011 at 05:21

    Id wait Jacob not too many PS3 3D games and convergence in games is so low(lower then movies imo). Id wait till there is a ps3 3d game your really interested in. Might be a better tv/ cheaper by then.

  • 9 astonish // Feb 1, 2011 at 05:32

    Great review! 2 questions:

    1) did you actually test any 3D HDMI content? I am curious if the performance (ghosting, etc) change. Some monitors behave differently over HDMI
    2) is the monitor stable? For a 27″ that stand looks a bit flimsy. Does it rock side to side easily?

  • 10 Clay Doh // Feb 1, 2011 at 08:37

    $600?
    I am on my knees begging. I might be able to actually afford that!
    If true I’ll tatoo an Acer Logo along with the cash on the barrelhead.

  • 11 craig davis // Feb 1, 2011 at 13:15

    “did you actually test any 3D HDMI content?” I’m curious about this aswell astonish. If i’m going to buy a 3d monitor playing 3d hdmi is a major factor for me. So its pretty much a choice between this monitor or the upcoming samsung monitors.

  • 12 piyp // Feb 1, 2011 at 13:20

    I’m using AMD’s GPU. Can I watch 3D movie from DVI?

  • 13 Bloody // Feb 1, 2011 at 13:23

    I’ve tested with 3DTV Play over the HDMI, it is working just like on a 3D HDTV, tonight I’ll also test with AMD GPU to confirm if it is indeed working in 3D as expected. All kinds of HDMI 1.4a devices supporting stereo 3D with frame packing should not have any trouble… if you have Side by Side or Over/Under format it will most likely not work, but I need to further test this to confirm for sure.

    AMD GPUs should be compatible only through HDMI 1.4a and not through DVI, but I can confirm this later tonight.

  • 14 Bloody // Feb 1, 2011 at 14:25

    I’ve got some official information regarding the pricing and availability of the 27″ Acer HN274H with my initial forecast being close to the official numbers. The monitor should be available by the end of February with a suggested price of 689€ (Euro) for Europe and probably the same amount, but in US dollars for the North American markets. So the wait for it won’t be long…

  • 15 xwing // Feb 1, 2011 at 15:14

    Well the price is quite high as I initially expected, and here I had hopes about buying it for about one day thanks to your prediction… it was fun while it lasted :P
    Any chance you get to test the 24″ model?

  • 16 Rhialto // Feb 1, 2011 at 16:44

    Any sync problem with the IR emitter so high? I ask because when I initially got my 3D Vision glassses, I placed the IR emitter over my CRT, it was sitting on it and I thought that would (should) be the bast place. I had a few problem with losing sync and was quite suprised. Finally, it’s now on the desk in front of the monitor and I have no problem.

  • 17 Ryan // Feb 1, 2011 at 17:17

    I guess if you consider it is bundled with the glasses and emitter, it isn’t too bad of a deal. I have a H5360 projector but would also like to eventually pick up a 3D LCD monitor… especially now the they seem to have ghosting under control.

  • 18 Fapster // Feb 1, 2011 at 18:31

    I want this…. but I don’t know…. should I be patient and wait for some competition to surface that could potentially be even better? Tough call.

  • 19 Jason Borne // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:06

    To much money you can get bigger atleast 3d 42 inch 1080p Plasma’s for 800 usd. 700 is way to much even with the glasses. or sale a verison with the glasses

  • 20 Jason Borne // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:14

    Sale a verison without the glasses, for $400. You can get 27inch monitors with higher res than 1080p for 300 and above, even 30 inch screens starting at $400 with 2560 x 1600. Acer is full of it..
    I brought 3 acer gd23hz lcd for surround gaming, Sent one back and I have two, looking to get a 27 inch 3d display to put in the middle and continue 3d surround although its a larger display than the 24.. Bloody can you try this setup two GD23hz with this new Acer 27 in surround see if it will work , if it has the same timings and on the same RES, Screen size shouldnt matter.. Thanks in Advance if you have the required setup..

  • 21 Tim // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:25

    JAson Borne — What 42′ 1080P Plasma works with Nvidia 3D Glasses?????

    Have tried a few 120Mhz TVs and they never worked, you find one that did?

    Thanks

  • 22 blackrat // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:43

    Does this monitor have a VESA mount for wall mount/generic monitor stand? 100×100, 200×200?

    I think in the unboxing video I’ve seen some screw holes.

  • 23 tommygunn // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:44

    You would have to me mad to spend £588 on this, when for 200 you can get the 50″ samsung p50c680 and play in page flipping 1080p 3d.

    Silly price.

  • 24 tommygunn // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:45

    I meant 200 more…… soz.

  • 25 Jason Borne // Feb 1, 2011 at 20:52

    Heres a quick search on Google 1080p 3d Plasma for 800.. 42 inch. hdmi 1.4 and it does 2d to 3d conversion inside the TV which I’am sure this new acer does not..

    Mind you though these are TV’s and not monitor so with 3d vision you have to use 3dvision PLAY feature included with 3d vision

    http://www.google.com/#q=3d+plasmas&hl=en&biw=1148&bih=818&sa=X&ei=PkZITb2hEoGclgeR84SnBA&ved=0CCsQpwUoAA&tbs=shop:1%2Cp_ord%3Ap%2Cprice%3A1%2Cppr_min%3A800%2Cppr_max%3A1200%2Cpdtr0%3A708843%7C708844%2Ccat%3A404&tbm=&tbo=&fp=28021f1048a3561d

    Also Compusa always has sales of 3d tv’s.. these are hdmi 1.4 tV’s not the Old 3d ready TV’s that use checkerboard, although those still can be used with an convertor.. Or you can buy a dlp 3d Project for $550 with an 3d frame convertor to hdmi 1.4 3d for $150.. now you can 150 inch screen with PC and hdmi 1.4 3d $750 or lest when the projectors goes on sale for 500, you’re looking at only 650 for that setup.. These companies are a rip off, why did it take Acer so long to come out with an 27 inch with Hdmi 1.4 they want to nickle and dime us to death..

  • 26 Jacob Pederson // Feb 1, 2011 at 21:32

    Tim

    You are 100% correct. 120hz TV’s update at 120hz, but they do not accept 120hz inputs . . . it’s that they upscale the picture to 120hz by adding interpolated frames. There is NO 3d tv with the capabilities of this monitor. 3d TV’s that claim full HD, mean only in the sense of 24 fps movies, not in full 120hz (60hz for each eye).

    By my count this puts the signal bandwidth of this monitor at more than double any 3d TV on the market. That is why this monitor and others like it are a big deal :)

  • 27 Bloody // Feb 1, 2011 at 21:59

    AMD GPU compatibility confirmed through HDMI 1.4a using a 5850M GPU with the HP Envy 17 3D laptop.

    Rhialto, no problem with the integrated IR emitter, unless of course you try to look at the bottom of the screen from an inch or less away, something that you normally will never do ;)

    blackrat, yes it has VESA mount – 100×100 mm.

    I’m going to repeat it again that this monitor supports both 3D Vision through the DL DVI port, meaning 120Hz even at 1080p (something that any 3D HDTV is not currently capable of) as well as full support of 3DTV Play over the HDMI ports with the same stereo 3D features like on normal 3D HDTVs (with the same limitations they have for 720p 50/60Hz and 1080p 24 Hz 3D modes only). So in some aspects is ti better than a 3D HDTV, in others it is not… but it also offers an interesting alternative to 3D HDTVs.

    Jason Borne, unfortunately I cannot try that at the moment due to not having two of the other Acer models available. As for having higher resolution on a 3D display than Full HD, we are already at the limits of the DL DVI interface, so for not it is not an option. In 2D yes, but in 3D if you want to have 120Hz refresh rate you cannot go to lets say 2560×1600 for example.

    As for automatic 2D to 3D conversion, there are multiple software solutions that do support that for the people that want to have such features. Although this would mean that you get no 2D to 3D conversion when using HDMI with a consumer electronic devices.

  • 28 MartinM // Feb 1, 2011 at 23:20

    Could you use this please? :)
    http://img192.imageshack.us/i/dddalt.jpg/

  • 29 Bloody // Feb 2, 2011 at 00:05

    Here it is:
    http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/4913/acerhn274h.jpg
    http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/1682/acerhn274h2.jpg

  • 30 Ben Reierson // Feb 2, 2011 at 01:35

    I’m pretty convinced the 24″ is going to be my next monitor. Do you expect to be reviewing that as well? Any reason to believe it will differ much from these results?

  • 31 Jason Borne // Feb 2, 2011 at 04:07

    Thanks Bloody for the awesome review, I’ve been waiting on this monitor for nearly a year..

    There is 3d TV’s that are 1080p and work with nvidia 3d glasses, a posted the link in an above post. As I stated they are hdmi 1.4 3d TV’s , which 1.4 @ 1080p only supports 24hz.. I wasnt stating this TV’s would support 1080p at 60hz per eye in 3d, although they will do 60hz @ 720p. It makes no since to buy this monitor for 700 or more when you can get twice as much for $800 bigger screen, 2d / 3d converison of any Source “SAT,CABLE,BLU RAY, ETC even Game consoles without support of 3d enabled game or support if the game supports 1.4hdmi”.

    All current 3d TV’s are 1080p only non are higher res 2560×1600, I was referring to Computer monitors that are 27 inch and 30 inch, That are way more affordable with better spec’s but no 3d, 30’inch screens starting at $350 with higher res than this new acer “only 1080p” for cheaper. is hdmi 1.4 3d worth over twice the amount of a 2d version, I Dont think so…

    Which I believe is a scam, nearly all 27 and 30 inch screens has a 2560×1600 res, I understand the bandwidth may not be there for 3d , BUT IT surely is THERE FOR 2d, So why acer limit their 27 inch to only 1080p in 2d.. Can you see yourself paying over twice as much for a less monitor with only the added feature of 3d. Why didn’t acer stick with the price scheme as their 24 inch 3d monitors , They are more comparable in price to a regular 2d 24 inch.. they cost more but not nearly outrageousness as this 700 for a 27 inch with 3d glasses, they need to drop this price, and sell one without the 3d glasses..

    far as the 2d/3d conversion I was just mentioning it as an additional feature you would have if you went the direction of a 3d tV in relation to the price point for this monitor. The Acer monitor wont be able to do 2d/3d conversion without software from the PC and then not TV or cable 2d unless that PC has an 3d TV tuner Card, Its not very practical, the PC software is limited to content on your PC only.

    My whole point is, when comparing price of other soluations that give nearly the same results, THIS IS WAY OVER PRICED.. Period.. Look I paid 350 for three acer 24inch screens, and 500 for an acer 720p 3d Projector, I’am running 3d vision surround with 2 gtx 570 gpus, 5760 x 1080.. I sent one 24 inch back to amazon and will sell the other two, but I’am not paying 700 times 3 just for 3d surround gaming.. What a rip off, I could get 3 1080p 42 inch plasma’s for nearly the same price and have way more features.. You know Acer is reading these’s blogs, we have to let them know that they need to be reasonable with their prices, ATLEAST Comparable to other market solutions…

  • 32 Gerard // Feb 2, 2011 at 05:40

    Thanks Bloody. It makes 3D vision close to my heart again… great information. Hope to see it for pre-order soon?

  • 33 H C Forde // Feb 2, 2011 at 14:34

    If that pricing valid or or they just floating a balloon to see what the reaction will be. Two companies need to be adressed on this issue both Nvidia and Acer. NVIDIA, ACER maybe you are not aware there is a world recession going on. Maybe you just want to skim from the early adopters but there are also fewer of them at that price. Maybe you feel you can sell all you can make at that price, maybe you can’t. What I know you can’t do is convert AMD users to Nvidia users at that price. The cost of conversion will be too high. However, conversion is where you get market share. Granted ACER is making the monitor but there is also a cost associated with the bundling of the emitter and glasses that needs to be adjusted. Maybe Acer/Nvidia needs to consider reducing the price of their 23.6″ 3D bundle by $50 to increase market share and then price the HN274H $150-$200 higher so as not to cannibalize sales.

    What we have are 2 different companies with 2 different sets of goals. ACER’s goal is to make as much as they can on each monitor. Nvidia’s goal is to increase their share in the market over AMD/ATI.

    There are other alternatives though. Last week I found a 65″ Mitsubishi DLP 1 year old for $850. It works with the Nvidia Glasses. It had been up since just after Christmas and I checked yesterday, it is still available. I currently run 2-2gb 5870 cards in Xfire with a GTX460 for Physx. If priced around $600 I would buy the HN274H and sell the AMD cards to get some Nvidia cards. Higher than that I have no reason to buy the ACER monitor over a 65″ DLP that is like new with the stand even. Acer loses but Nvidia wins. Those that can not find this ‘DLP’ monitor option (but there are tons of them out there) will opt to stay with what they have for now. Acer loses the monitor sale and no market share increase for Nvidia. The only way I can see Acer wining at this high price is if they have a contract for a low number of these panels and they know that can sell all they have contracted for at that price.

    If anyone is wondering I have a MBA in Marketing and Economics. I can afford the monitor but can justify it at those prices. A DLP would get more use with lower real cost.

    ACER and NVIDIA, you need to reconsider your pricing structure!

  • 34 MartinM // Feb 2, 2011 at 14:59

    Thanks Bloody, may I have the other side too?

    Love you. :)

  • 35 H C Forde // Feb 2, 2011 at 15:09

    Minor corrections to the above post!

    FIRST SENTENCE SHOULD BE…
    Is that pricing valid or or they just floating a balloon to see what the reaction will be?

    NEXT TO LAST PARAGRAPH SHOULD READ…
    I can afford the monitor but can’t justify it at those prices; a DLP would get more use with lower real cost.

    “additional thoughts”

    As I posted on another site A FEW DAYS AGO. At $600 I would buy immediately, at $700 I would wait and see what the other options were from other companies offering larger monitors.

    The added technology does NOT add up to the price that is currently being set before us.

  • 36 snuggles // Feb 2, 2011 at 15:48

    @H C Forde – I agree that the cost seems *really* high considering the price delta between a 24 to 27″ is usually not that much.

    However, the DLP is not an alternative for me – no room for that monster, so I’m stuck with 24″ (too small), and this… sigh, it sucks!

    I would prefer to get the bare monitor – I just want the 120 refresh and could care less about the 3D. Which makes it an even *worse* deal for me.

    What I’d really like to see is a 32″ version with no glasses. I’m not clear on how much more it would take to build and deliver to market something that size vs something smaller assuming all other variables stayed the same (resolution etc).

  • 37 Bloody // Feb 2, 2011 at 16:20

    If you are not Ok with the price of this model, then you will most certainly not like how much will a 32″ Full HD autostereoscopic display will currently cost you (a decent one that has more than one or three viewing positions).

    Hopefully Acer will also have a model that will be without glasses for everyone that already has a pair of 3d Vision glasses available and reduce the price to a more interesting level. A pair of extra glasses is currently being sold by Nvidia for $149 USD (the same package bundled with the monitor).

  • 38 snuggles // Feb 2, 2011 at 17:11

    Bloody, I really appreciate the work you do, but all I personally want is a larger-format display device (monitor/hdtv plasma/lcd … whatever!) that has low lag and 120hz input so that I can get back to the motion clarity that CRTs provided *10 years* ago.

    It’s pretty frusterating that in order to get this one feature, I have to buy in to a whole 3D program that I have no interest in.

  • 39 H C Forde // Feb 3, 2011 at 01:52

    “The monitor should be available by the end of February with a suggested price of 689€ (Euro) for Europe and probably the same amount, but in US dollars for the North American markets. So the wait for it won’t be long…”

    Bloody, Can you confirm the Approximate US price? Do you mean it will also be about $689 in USD also or 689euro converted to USD(which would put it somewhere in the $950 range). Thanks

  • 40 gadget78 // Feb 3, 2011 at 03:40

    just did some quick calculations, and i make it that its going to be in excess of £700 GBP !!! thats alot more than i anticipated/budgeted for!! was kinda expecting over 500-600 mark but over 700 ! thats is pushing it :( hmmm gonna have to think about it now … shame it wont support side by side format (that i believe 360’s output ?)

  • 41 Gerard // Feb 3, 2011 at 04:47

    We shall see what happens with the Samsung’s… They peeked my interest. Bloody, can you find out if the 2011 Samsung 27″ SA950 lineup with have Vesa 3 pin mini din support for syncing the glasses?

  • 42 Marius // Feb 3, 2011 at 12:32

    Bloody, great job!

    Can you check if the new monitor has an oversharpness feature like GD245HQ\GD235HZ model in which characters and icons have white annoying halo. See pictures: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=160941&st=80

  • 43 Bloody // Feb 3, 2011 at 13:02

    H C Forde, the normal way of things is if that an Euro price is 689 Euro the price in USA is usually the same in USD, so the monitor actually costs less in the States than in Europe and here we get it even more expensive. In UK however the price should be converted from Euro to Pounds and that would mean a price of about 587 Pounds. That doesn’t mean that you may see cheaper or more expensive prices than that, the price cited above is the official recommended price…

    Marius, didn’t see any oversharpening on the new Acer like on the first 3D model they had.

  • 44 Marius // Feb 3, 2011 at 13:40

    > Marius, didn’t see any oversharpening on the new Acer like on the first 3D model they had.

    That’s good news. Thanks.

  • 45 Mark // Feb 3, 2011 at 14:53

    Great review Bloody, nice monitor but yeah as others mentioned its a bit expensive. Can you please tell me if a single gtx 460 can handle 3d on this monitor ? 720p maybe ? thanks

  • 46 Bloody // Feb 3, 2011 at 15:16

    Singe GTX 460 may be able to handle even higher resolutions than 720p (depending on the model 768MB/1GB) in stereo 3D mode, however you will have to go to middle level of details and disable some of the advanced effects in order to get playable framerates.

  • 47 threedee // Feb 3, 2011 at 17:37

    Bloody, with the ati radeon hd 5 series gpu through the hdmi, is it just 3d playback with the powerdvd software for 3d movies etc or is it also does 3d gaming also work ?

  • 48 Bloody // Feb 3, 2011 at 17:47

    You can also use it for gaming, however you are restrained to 720p 50/60Hz 3D mode and 1080p 24Hz 3D mode due to the use of HDMI 1.4a.

  • 49 H C Forde // Feb 3, 2011 at 17:57

    Thanks Bloody, great review and even great and quick response to questions. Thanks again!

  • 50 Fapster // Feb 3, 2011 at 21:10

    The unboxing video still gives me goosebumps.

Leave a Comment