All times are UTC + 2 hours

Post subject: 3d hw buy with respect to OS, gaming and movies
PostPosted: 01 Jan 2014, 22:10 

Hello all,

Im new to 3D technology and Id like to ask you few questions. My hw is win 7/ubuntu 12.04 dualboot, core i7 920, 4g ram, gtx 260 gpu.

Im considering new hardware, basically i want following:
priority:
- cheap HD projector
- being able to play 3D HD movies from mkv and youtube (dont have blueray drive) from Linux, windows 7 is so so and id like to avoid rebooting everytime as I work primary on Linux
- cheap 3D glasses, up to 4 people (so DLP si much better choice than nVidia)

nice to have
- 3D gaming under Windows, not really priority, dont mind hacks for each game, willing to pay later for 1 nVidia glasses for games if really necessary but DLP hack would be cool

I was thinking about buying BenQ TW523 projector and BenQ D4 glasses. Does it play 3D movies under Linux?
What is difference between BenQ TW523 and more expensive W770ST that is supposedly supporting "nvidia 3d vision"? I dont see any special connectors, etc, so both should be able to provide 3d vision with nVidia, correct?

Thank you for your responses.

Post subject: Re: 3d hw buy with respect to OS, gaming and movies
PostPosted: 02 Jan 2014, 15:38 
Site Admin

Even if the hardware inside is the same, the official 3D Vision certification adds to the cost of the device. The good thins is that with an EDID INF from the officially supported model you might be able to make 3D Vision work on the other model as well.

For 3D movie support under Linux you might want to check out the Bino 3D player: http://bino3d.org/, for Windows: Stereoscopic Player or if you go for a 3D projector with HDMI 1.4 3D support PowerDVD or another Blu-ray 3D-capable software player.

Profile WWW  

PostPosted: 02 Jan 2014, 17:28 

Thank you very much, Bloody :)