3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Review of the 27-inch Asus VG278H 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor

November 7th, 2011 · 94 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


Asus VG278H is just the second 27-inch 3D Vision-ready monitor that is going to be available on the market this month around the world, it is a model that we’ve been waiting for quite some time now and it is finally here. The previous 27-inch model compatible with Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology was released earlier this year and it was Acer HN274H that I’ve also reviewed and liked a lot. So the Asus was not only a bit late, but also already has a good performing competitor on the market that it needs to beat in order to take the position of the best 3D Vision monitor on the market so far. But the Asus VG278H is up to a good start, it comes with integrated IR emitter and bundled with the new 3D Vision 2 glasses as well as with support for the new Nvidia 3D Lightboost technology that is promising a brighter image in stereo 3D mode. It also has HDMI 1.4a interface with support for stereoscopic 3D input with various other S3D-capable devices, but only frame packaged input. It seems that the company has also learned from some of their previous mistakes with the first 3D Vision-ready monitor they’ve had, the VG236H and the new 27-inch model is not with a glossy screen. So I started testing the monitor with very high expectations and it has managed to respond very well to most of them, but there were a few things that I was a bit disappointed with. Generally speaking however I really liked the performance and features that the 27-inch Asus VG278H 3D Vision-ready LCD monitor has, but let me get into more details starting with the official specifications…


Asus VG278H Monitor Specifications:

Panel Size: 27″ (69 cm) Wide Screen 16:9, TN, LED backlight
Native Resolution: 1920×1080 pixels
Pixel Pitch: 0.311 mm
Brightness (Max.): 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 50,000,000:1 (dynamic)
Viewing Angles (CR>=10): 170° H / 160° V
Response Time: 2 ms (GtG)
Video Inputs: Dual-link DVI-D, VGA, HDMI 1.4a
Power Consumption: 65W On, <1W Sleep, <1W Off/Standby
Integrated Audio: 2x 3W stereo speakers
Monitor stand: tilt +15°~-5°, swivel and height adjustment
Dimension (WxHxD): 643 x 460 x 220 mm
Weight: 8 kg.

One thing that I found interesting in the new Asus VG278H monitor is the fact that the infrared emitter for the 3D glasses, located at the top of the display is placed in an adjustable “box” that you can rotate in order to better fit to your specific style of use of the monitor. And together with the highly adjustable stand of the monitor you get more flexibility when setting up the display (higher/lower positioning or near/far usage scenarios). I also want to focus your attention on the fact that the manufacturer specifications of the display state 300 candelas per square meter maximum brightness, similar to the specs of the 27-inch Acer 3D monitor, but when measuring the actual brightness I get readings for much higher brightness levels… and the 3D Lightboost technology is not responsible for this, but I’ll get back to the brightness level a bit later on. Another thing that caught my attention in the standard specifications of the Asus VG278H is the relatively high power consumption the monitor has and that made me measure the actual power consumption. It was like that: around 45W with 60Hz refresh and around 50W with 120Hz refresh rate in 2D mode, and switching to 3D mode between 30W and 40W, depending on the setting of the Lightboost technology (Off – MAX). It is interesting to see how the Lightboost technology affects the power consumption and what are the brightness levels per eye and with different settings for the Lightboost, but that is something that needs further investigation and I’ll post about at a later time.



The OSD menu of the monitor has the option to control the level of the Lightboost technology as well as to completely disable it which is a good thing to have in order for me to test and compare different settings. Visually the difference between the setting with Lightboost to off and to the maximum does not seem that big, you can certainly notice that there is difference in darker areas of the image as they seem brighter, but it is hard to tell if the image is actually twice as bright or less than that. I’ll focus on measuring that in a separate post as I’ve already mentioned, so stay tuned, the important thing is that you really get brighter image in stereo 3D mode thanks to the Lightboost technology and it really looks better than on older 3D Vision-ready displays, especially in games with darker environment. When using the 3D Lightboost technology you can say that the experience you get in 3D and the level of brightness now seems to be almost like what you get with a good 3D HDTV, something that was really needed as an improvement for 3D Vision.



Now, moving on to the color accuracy and brightness of the display. Here I’ve got interesting results, measuring the default color accuracy that the display offers as well as the level of brightness and these results kind of reminded me of something. The level of brightness is 427 cd/m2 which is way over the 300 cd/m2 advertised by Asus and by pushing the monitor to the maximum I was able to get 450 cd/m2 as a maximum brightness level. And considering that the level of brightness is quite high, you can even visually notice that as image on the monitor looks really bright even with the naked eye, it is expected to also not have very accurate color reproduction, although only the gamma level was a bit off as yo can see.



After doing a calibration of the monitor, and getting some of the brightness reduced, the color accuracy becomes very good with a brightness level a bit below the 300 cd/m2. Now, what I see in images for both before and after the calibration are results that seem very similar to these from Acer HN274H monitor, although the brightness levles are a bit lower. This has made me start thinking that it is not impossible that the two monitors are based on the same 27-inch LCD panels from LG, although the Asus monitor comes with support for 3D Lightboost technology… or at least that LG may have further developed the same LCD panel by adding support for the Nvidia tech to it. Unfortunately as I could not get to the service menu of the monitor I’ll have to open the monitor to be able to confirm this suspicion and this is something I cannot do at the moment.

One thing that is different here however, when comparing the Asus monitor to the Acer is the level of input lag I was able to measure. One thing that I’ve noticed immediately after getting the Asus VG278H monitor for testing is the good responsiveness I’ve got from it, although I’m not overly sensitive to input lag. After measuring it I can confirm that the Asus is better than the Acer in that aspect, although the VG278H is not totally lag free, the input lag at the default factory settings is very low… something very close to 0 milliseconds and less than 5 ms for sure. So even if you do not plan to use this monitor for gaming in stereo 3D mode (although you get it ready for that with 3D Vision glasses and IR emitter bundled), but instead plan to use it as a 120Hz gaming display in 2D mode (non-stereoscopic 3D), then you should be quite satisfied with the very low level of input lag that you will be getting.



Here is how the backlight uniformity of the display looks like, no serious backlight bleeding, apart from the slightly brighter top and bottom of the display (the blue color). There is some slight variation that is more easily noticeable if you look at the display at a high angle, but normally when you look directly at it you can hardly see anything non-uniform apart from the slightly brighter top and bottom pars of the display. Of course the the backlight uniformity can vary from unit to unit, but generally you should not be expecting to get serious issues with backlight bleeding on this monitor.



Now I’m going to start with the usual tests for crosstalk/ghosting as this is still one of the most serious issues that the makers of 3D displays need to deal up with in order to be able to deliver the best user experience in stereo 3D mode. I’m using a set of specially selected tests to get idea about the performance you should expect as well as to compare to other products that I’ve already tested. All of the following tests are performed with the standard factory settings of the display, so be aware that there is a possibility to get better results and performance if you tweak the monitor a bit in the OSD menu. So now moving to the extreme crosstalk test photos, as expected some crosstalk is still visible with both the white and black. Again very similar results to the 27-inch Acer monitor, although the brightness here is higher and the crosstalk is slightly lower, so there is some improvement, but I expected to see more. Especially after seeing some presentations about the new 3D Vision and 3D Ligthboost technology that were talking about “ghost-free” images. But lets us move on to the more actual usage scenarios to compare the levels of crosstalk/ghosting as these specially made test photos are showing ghosting even on good 3D HDTVs.



Next is the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, a real world crosstalk test to show the level of crosstalk/ghosting you can expect from a 3D video. Slightly visible crosstalk if you pay enough attention to it, if not you may not notice it at all.




Going to the game Tomb Raider: Underworld for one more crosstalk check in a real world game, there still some faint ghosting present at the top of the screen and there is also some color ghosting at the bottom. Again very similar to what could be seen with the Acer HN274H 3D monitor. A very important thing here is that all of the above crosstalk/ghosting tests were made at the factory default settings for the monitor, so it is what you get when you open up the monitor and start using it. But you should be well aware that with some tweaking of the default settings you can get even better results without having to compromise much of anything.

So can you do something about reducing the crosstalk and make things better? Yes, you actually can do something and that is to reduce the contrast of the monitor a bit from the default setting of 76 in stereo 3D mode to about 55. Thanks to the significantly increased brightness due to the 3D Lightboost technology you can sacrifice some of the brightness levels in order to get rid of most of the annoying crosstalk, although not to have it completely gone, while still getting quite bright image. Actually I’m wondering why didn’t Asus decide to do this as a factory default as it really works well and leaves only hardly visible traces of crosstalk that won’t bother you like for example the color ghosting that is easily visible with the default setting and is really annoying.

But what is the conclusion in terms of the crosstalk/ghosting with the new Asus HN278H 3D Vision-ready monitor? Personally I’ve expected more from it right out from the box and what we get is just slightly reduced ghosting level with the factory settings as compared to the Acer that was released a few months ago. However, as I’ve already explained you can get even better results with manually tweaking the settings. The Asus VG278H is definitely a move in the right direction, but we need the crosstalk/ghosting reduced more in order to get better stereoscopic 3D experience and apparently Asus has decided to focus more on the higher brightness level than on reduced ghosting and they could’ve done a better balance with the out of the box settings, fortunately you are free to do it yourself. Another thing that I have kind of expected is some improvement in the non-PC 3D support, the new Asus monitor also works only with HDMI 1.4 frame packaging, just like all other 3D monitors with HDMI 1.4, but there is still no support for Side by Side and Over/Under input modes and this limits the usability of the monitor with other 3D-capable devices. With that said I can say that I’m actually very happy with the monitor, even though you need to play a bit with the settings to really get the best results in terms of crosstalk reduction, the brightness increase in stereo 3D mode is really good. The improvement of the brightness level in stereoscopic 3D mode was the other thing that was really needed and we got it and it is working well in order to improve the user experience. And all this when combined with the new 3D Vision 2 active shutter glasses that come with bigger lenses, block better the external light and come with a more comfortable design is another good improvement. Adding the very low input lag of the Asus monitor things are looking good not only for stereo 3D gamers, but for people willing to use the high refresh rate more and not for gaming in stereo 3D mode. So if you are looking for a new 27-inch 3D gaming display then the Asus VG278H should be your primary candidate, and if 27-inch is too big for you, then you should wait a bit more for the smaller 24-inch monitors with 3D Lightboost support (as a must have feature) to start coming out on the market very soon. And you can expect some more interesting things from me about the Asus VG278H monitor in the next few days as there is a lot of extra testing and comparison going on…

- The Asus VG278H 3D monitor is available for with a price of $599.99 at Amazon…
- The Asus VG278H 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor is available at Newegg for $599.99 USD…


Other similar posts you might be interested in:

Tags: ······


94 responses so far ↓

  • 51 Bloody // Nov 16, 2011 at 21:12

    The response time of the LCD displays is affected by the temperature, so a colder room temperature can lead to slower response time the first few minutes after you turn on the display. And slower response time of the pixels means more ghosting/crosstalk… ;)

    I’ll be testing the monitor with PS3 as well…

  • 52 Ian // Nov 16, 2011 at 22:52

    Right, that makes sense now. It panicked me at first, because it was a lot of money for it to be worse than the Acer! Thanks. :o)

  • 53 Miles // Nov 18, 2011 at 21:55

    Asus support finally got back with me. They confirmed that the monitor supports frame packing, side by side, and top-and-bottom over HDMI. So why wouldn’t side-by-side Xbox games work? Or is this simply a case of a sales rep not knowing their product?
    Thanks.

  • 54 Bloody // Nov 18, 2011 at 22:16

    The monitor can autodetect frame packaged 3D content and automatically activate the 3D mode to show it correctly, however there is no way to autodetect Side by Side or Above/Below input as it uses a standard frame size unlike the framer packaging. So you need to manually set the monitor to the respectful mode so that it will treat the content as 3D, but there is no such option available with the Asus monitor…

  • 55 VanBurenPhilips // Nov 18, 2011 at 22:17

    As Nick pointed out, the manual does state support for side-by-side & top/bottom over HDMI on page 1-5 (also see the last page for lists of supported resolutions, refresh rates & 3D modes). Download it here:

    http://www.asus.com/Display/LCD_Monitors/VG278H/#download

    The wording is a little unclear but I’m guessing SBS support would make a significant difference to potential buyers of this monitor. It would be a plus for me. Can you check this please Bloody?

  • 56 Bloody // Nov 18, 2011 at 23:16

    I saw that in the manual as well, but Asus does not give any information however how to use these apparently supported modes. I’ve tried with content in Side by Side and Over/Under format, but the monitor does not have a way to manually set it to work with such 3D input and it does not automatically recognize such content as a 3D one. It only automatically recognizes frame packaged 3D content and activates the 3D mode…

  • 57 VanBurenPhilips // Nov 19, 2011 at 16:17

    How strange. Sorry, you pretty much answered this in your previous comment but I posted at the same time. Wonder if contacting Asus would help? FW update for the monitor maybe?

  • 58 Rash // Nov 21, 2011 at 23:05

    Hi guys. I’ve bought this monitor about a week ago. It’s really great and love the new 3D Vision 2.0 glasses.

    I’d like to get a second pair of glasses on the cheap and they havent started selling 3DV2.0 extra pairs yet. I may hve a way of getting 3D V1.0 glasses. Have you guys tried mixing v2 with v1 glasses on the same setup? I’d like others to be able to see something other than blurred crap wehn i’m using my shiny new monitor to game or watch a movie… it’s more of a emergency pair really.

    Think it will be okay to mix n match v2 glasses with v1 on my shiny new VG278H?

  • 59 Bloody // Nov 21, 2011 at 23:25

    You can use multiple pairs of glasses, mixing 3D Vision and 3D Vision 2 pairs without any issues. Everyone is going to be seeing the same thing and getting the same 3D experience, both the old and the new glasses work with Lightboost the same way and bring you the same brighter image.

  • 60 optical10 // Nov 22, 2011 at 18:19

    I take it there is no no equivalent PC games compatible 3DTV that can recreate 1080p using 3DTV play over HDMI 1.4a? I’m selling my Acer 27 inch monitor to either go for this Asus 27 inch monitor or 3DTV , hence the question above.

  • 61 luk7 // Nov 23, 2011 at 14:06

    Hello can anyone tell me if this the package comes with a external standalone i/r emitter for the glasses?

  • 62 Bloody // Nov 23, 2011 at 20:59

    No, the IR emitter is built in the display, it is not an external one.

  • 63 luk7 // Nov 24, 2011 at 19:53

    thanks for the reply, so if I buy this monitor I cannot use the glasses elsewhere but only with this monitor… :O

  • 64 zimmah // Nov 26, 2011 at 14:26

    so, this monitor is slightly better, but nearly the same as the hn274 from acer, and the pricetag is also nearly the same. so in fact there’s no reason to buy the acer hn274 instead of this one, or is there?

  • 65 john-boy // Nov 28, 2011 at 03:51

    Help everyone or anyone!

    I was on this web site when the Acer 27 inch 3D monitor was coming out last Spring. I bought it and have been enjoying it.

    Now I am wondering if I need to upgrade to ASUS and sell my Acer.

    Have many of you purchased this new ASUS to replace your Acer?

    I would like more brighter screen viewing area.

    I have heard the New Glasses pinch the sides of your head if you wear them OVER eye-glasses….

    Did bloody replace his Acer 3D monitor?

    john-boy

  • 66 Bloody // Nov 28, 2011 at 12:03

    The Asus is very similar to the Acer in terms of performance in overall, bu being a bit better in stereo 3D mode thanks to the Lightboost technology. If you already have the Acer then you probably should not rush replacing it with the Asus and wait a bit more to see what other alternatives you may get in the near future. There is information that Acer is already preparing an updated version of their 27-inch model that will support Lightboost and that can be a better choice…

    As for me, I just got a review sample from Acer for testing, and after finishing I’ve returned it. I could not get one for using as the monitor is still not available for sale in my region… ;)

  • 67 lunatic // Nov 28, 2011 at 18:35

    hi bloody, i have another question for you, i’m willing to order me one, i don’t have 27 “acer 3D Monitor, so it’s a bit knew all this. I have been reading in many reviews that you only can get 3D @ 120hz if you connect through the dual link dvi cable, is this true?! Because i’m willing to order me an hdmi 1.4 with the monitor & i can’t imaging that if i connect it with hdmi 1.4 the 3D wont work, i do have a gpu with hdmi 1.4 output!

    Thnx ;)

  • 68 john-boy // Nov 28, 2011 at 20:17

    Thanks Bloody for the information!!!

    I really enjoyed chatting with everyone when the Acer was first coming out… After I got mine, I stopped blogging here.

    My interest in 3D-Vision never faded, but I just got busy with other things. TODAY I am going to signup so I can use the FORUMs on this site. I’d like to stick around awhile!

    Oh yea, Excellent suggestion to wait a bit before Upgrading. I would be very interested in the New Acer model thats being worked on. I am very please with the 27 inch model I have now too. (I noticed the price on those have dropped too….)

    john-boy

  • 69 john-boy // Nov 28, 2011 at 20:25

    Has anyone heard anything about the New 3D-Vision Glasses?

    Are they tight on the temple of the head if you happen to be wearing glasses already? I am sure they can be adjusted to fit comfortably anyway!!!

    Also has anyone seen the New Samsung 3D-Glasses, its a great idea what I’ve seen. The design seems to allow the glasses to be worn above any “regular” glasses and the lenses then hang over-top a person everyday glasses.

    john-boy

  • 70 Bloody // Nov 28, 2011 at 21:27

    If you want to be able to use 120Hz mode in 2D or 60Hz per eye in 3D mode you need to use the Dual-Link DVI connection. With HDMI 1.4 you are limited to either 720p 50/60Hz 3D mode or 1080p 24Hz 3D mode.

    I find the new 3D Vision 2 glasses more comfortable and have no problems wearing them over prescription glasses or with headphones. I also had no trouble with prescription glasses and the older 3D Vision glasses, but I suppose that it also depends a lot on the type of prescription glasses… with some it is possible to have problems.

  • 71 john-boy // Nov 29, 2011 at 00:12

    Thanks Bloody!

    You know, I have never had any problems with mine 3D-Vision glasses, I bet the new ones are just better!

    Since they are backward compatible, I was thinking about buying a pair for my Acer 27″3D, the larger viewing area must be nice although I guess I would get the lightboost untill I upgrade the monitor.

    All this talk about the new monitor made me think about working with the settings on my current monitor to see if I could lighten it up myself some.

    I have always taken for granted the darkness around the screen as just “how it is”…. I have to tell you that this Acer monitor I bought last Spring is one of the best investments I have ever made, it is Beautiful!!!

    Makes me wonder much more I’ll like the Asus27 inch 3D and the up coming Acer improvement model…. hmmm

    john-boy

  • 72 lunatic // Nov 29, 2011 at 23:00

    @Bloody ok thnx m8 ;)!

    I have some info of the release date in belgium! i contacted asus & they say they will be shipping out begin december this year! He also directly asked me, my local dealer to send one to me derectly, can’t wait to have my hands on these! xD whene i have him & fully tested him i will give a little review here also…

    grtz :)

  • 73 Adam // Dec 9, 2011 at 18:47

    What settings did you end up using in order to calibrate the monitor and achieve these good results?

  • 74 firechicken // Dec 10, 2011 at 06:50

    I have the same question as Adam. I have the new Asus now and would be interested in the settings that provide the most accurate image. Thanks!

  • 75 iSoLateD1 // Dec 15, 2011 at 00:05

    Are 23 or 24 inch 3d vision 2 lcds with lightboost and bundled 3d vision 2 glasses going to come out? The 27 inch is a little out of my price range. Also are the 23/24 inch 3d vision 2 ones working with 3d with hdmi devices like the ps3?

  • 76 Bloody // Dec 15, 2011 at 00:32

    Here are the settings I’m currently using on the Asus, after setting them the monitor is color calibrated for better color accuracy:
    Brightness – 80
    Contrast – 75
    Color temperature, RGB – 85, 77, 76
    Trace Free – 80

    This gets the monitor brightness in 2D mode to about 180 cd/m2 which I find suitable for my normal everyday usage in 2D mode, I like a bit higher brightness…

    The 3D Vision 2 glasses work over the HDMI 1.4 interface as well as Lightboost, so you get brighter image when using with consoles in 3D as well.

    For 24-inch 3D Vision 2 and 3D Lightboost-capable monitors chekc what BenQ is offering: http://3dvision-blog.com/benq-has-announced-the-xl2420t-and-xl2420tx-3d-gaming-monitors/

  • 77 Tom Gull (ThomasAlexHD) // Dec 21, 2011 at 23:05

    Bloody, what’s your recommended setting for Lightboost (choices look to be 1 – 9 per an earlier post)? Are there any other settings beyond those in your post of 12/15 that a novice might need to change? Thanks

  • 78 Bloody // Dec 22, 2011 at 00:41

    The Lightboost is at maximum of course, especially if you lower the contrast, as it only improves the brightness levels.

  • 79 Tom Gull (ThomasAlexHD) // Dec 22, 2011 at 23:47

    Thanks. My monitor arrived and I’m charging the glasses. Assuming there are no quality problems, I hope to be having a lot of fun with this shortly. I’ll lay your recommended tweaks in and see what this looks like!

  • 80 Mr. Derp // Dec 24, 2011 at 02:07

    Bloody, have you tested if the Asus VG278H input lag differs depending on the display mode that is used? Eg. Game Mode compared to Standard Mode?

  • 81 Incognito // Dec 31, 2011 at 03:58

    Well, I ended up buying this monitor and terribly regretting it. After all the other posts on other forums complaining of the bad backlight bleeding, terrible viewing angle, etc, I should have known better. After using the monitor for only 4 days one of the backlights died so I guess I can add myself as another casualty of Asus’s horrible QC. I’m pretty sure I can send it back and get a refund as I’m not taking a refurbished monitor in return. Here are some images in case anyone is interested. http://imgur.com/a/6im9Q

  • 82 iSoLateD1 // Jan 4, 2012 at 07:31

    Bloody, I hear the Benq is pretty much junk from the user reviews I saw. I guess I will keep my Alienware 3d vision 1 lcd and glasses until a good 24″ 3d vision 2 lcd is released.

  • 83 Bloody // Jan 4, 2012 at 11:05

    Can’t say anything yet about the new BenQ 3D monitors as I still haven’t seen or tested them… but it could be a while before other companies come out with new 24-inch 3D Vision-ready monitors.

  • 84 Delz // Apr 12, 2012 at 16:34

    Bloody what are the optimal settings for 3D gaming ive noticed a lot off ghosting while playing and i want to calibrate it right

    and another thing home come there is more ghosting/crosstalk in brighter areas in game?

  • 85 Bloody // Apr 13, 2012 at 01:03

    Just set the Contrast to something like 55 in stereo 3D mode and you should get less ghosting while preserving quite high brightness levels.

    There is usually more crosstalk noticeable on scenes where you have highly contrasting objects, not just on bright areas.

  • 86 Draco // Nov 25, 2012 at 06:38

    Does this monitor support 3d over HDMI 1.4a connection or not?

    Will the 120hz or 144hz mode work over HDMI 1.4a in 2d mode??

    Does the newer model with 144hz mode work over HDMI in 2d mode ???

    So this monitor and its newer version have HDMI 1.4 “a” connection or not????

    I have a G73jw with HDMI 1.4a with 3D output. So your final opinion about the Acer or the Asus 120hz or the Asus 144hz which one should i buy and will the 3D modes work with my laptop and will I get the 120hz or 144hz over HDMI from my laptop in 2D mode?????

  • 87 Dennis // Dec 17, 2012 at 06:34

    FYI: SBS & TOB 3d via HDMI supported on VG278H new firmware!

    Newer serial numbers (starting with prefix C5) seem to all (of 3 I’ve opened boxes and tested) now have support in the menu / firmware for side by side and top over bottom (thru manual selection in the Input menu). For example, I’ve tested my cable box (Comcast in USA) and found that ESPN 3d and OnDemand 3d media all show 3d fine over HDMI.

    Warning: I had to try 5 boxes before I found one that worked — some C3 and C4 serial numbers (made in March and April 2012) are still being sold, and neither supported these SBS/TOB modes, which is how I determined getting a C5 one (seems all made May 2012 or later) is the key.

    FYI: I found that the best return policy for these is walmart.com — they will let you return even if open and check for stuck pixels, back bleed etc — whereas, say, frys.com will charge you a restocking fee unless it is “truely broken” (e.g. IR emitter not light up — which was true for 1/5 I tried during this quest).

    P.S. Thanks for this site, Bloody — it’s been very helpful. I hope this info helps others — the VG278h is quite nice, once one finds one that works in all ways.

  • 88 Anupom // Feb 24, 2013 at 00:57

    If i want to use AMD Graphics cards…. Is it possible.
    or is there any problem….?

  • 89 Bloody // Feb 24, 2013 at 02:11

    It is possible, but only through the HDMI interface and this would mean no 1080p 60Hz 3D mode will be supported.

  • 90 Indy // Apr 3, 2013 at 13:26

    Could someone confirm that newer VG278H can play SBS & TOB 3d via HDMI? I’ve asked Asus Support about new firmware for VG278H and they know nothing about it.

    Dennis, could you post some pictures of this model with enabled OSD with options according to SBS i TOB?

  • 91 Gibbousmoon // Jun 17, 2013 at 12:00

    @Indy

    I bought one in April 2013. It has a serial number starting with “C8.” TOB and SBS are indeed available for manual selection in the OSD, but they are grayed out for me (I have it connected to my computer via DL DVI). I have heard that they work fine, but only via hdmi. I’m not sure why.

  • 92 Silkomat // Jul 10, 2013 at 17:04

    Hello,

    if you compare amount of ghosting of 24″ BenQ XL2411T and Asus VG278H, which one would have better results?

    Thank you.

  • 93 Jacob Pederson // Oct 20, 2013 at 20:38

    Is there a way to update the firmware to get SBS? Thanks!

  • 94 Bloody // Oct 20, 2013 at 21:56

    I don’t think there is an easy way to do this if at all at home (unless you are an Asus engineer), it will probably require special hardware to flash the firmware and the new firmware itself.

Leave a Comment

Current day month ye@r *