3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

24-inch Acer GN245HQ 120Hz 3D-capable LCD Gaming Monitor Review

July 11th, 2011 · 41 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


Acer GN245HQ is the latest 24-inch 3D LCD monitor made to be used with Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology, but together with the new bigger 27-inch Acer HN274H display it also features HDMI 1.4 3D support. Both the monitors come with built-in 3D Vision infrared emitters and a pair of 3D Vision active shutter glasses bundled, and when you are using the 3D monitors with 3D-capable devices over the HDMI 1.4 interface you still use the 3D Vision glasses, no matter if you connect a PlayStation 3 console or even an ATI/AMD video card. So you can say that these monitors are the next generation of 3D capable LCDs that offer wider support, but still they are not as flexible in terms of stereo 3D options like a 3D HDTV for exmaple. The reason for that is that they only support frame packaged 3D input over the HDMI 1.4 interface, so you will not be able to use Xbox 360 console in 3D as it usually outputs in Side by Side or Over/Under formats which are not supported. Now let’s get a closer look at the Acer GN245HQ that I’ll be reviewing here…


The specifications for the Acer GN245HQ:

Display size: 23.6″ (60 cm), 16:9 Full HD, LED backlight
Panel Technology: TN (Twisted Nematic)
Resolution: 1920×1080 @ 120Hz
Pixel pitch: 0.2715 mm
Brightness: 300 cd/m2
Contrast ratio: Dynamic – 100,000,000:1, Native – 1,000:1
Response time: 2 ms
Internal speakers: 2x 2W
Viewing angle: 170° hor., 160° vert.
Tilt / Swivel / Pivot: Tilt. -5°/15°
VESA Wall-mount: 100×100 mm
Connections: Analog DSUB-15, Dual-Link DVI-D (3D-capable), HDMI 1.4 (3D-capable)
Power consumption: 38.2W typical
Dimensions: 574.8×417.8×194.4 mm
Weight: 5.8 Kg



I’m starting with a check of the service menu (below you can see a guide how to access it), as I wanted to see what type of panel the new Acer GN245HQ monitor uses and the interesting thing here is that the panel is an updated version of the 23.6-inch one used in the previous GD245HQ/GD235HZ models from last year. The panel used in the Acer GD245HQ/GD235HZ was CMO M236-L02, made by Chi Mei Optoelectronics (CMO) and in the new Acer GN245HQ the panel is CMI M236H5-L02 made by the same company that is now called Chimei Innolux Corporation (CMI). The new panel uses LED backlight which helps in getting rid of issues with backlight bleeding (only very slightly visible brighter light at the bottom end of the screen of the test unit) and has improved handling with the issues found in the older panel resolved so no more oversharpening issues in the new model. Of course the level of crosstalk/ghosting is also reduced, but more about these in a bit. The bigger 27-inch Acer HN274H display uses an LCD panel from LG which is quite different in specifications and characteristics from this one from CMI, but it is performing quite well too.


How to enter the Service Menu on the Acer GN245HQ:

– Turn off the monitor
– Press and hold the first menu key (the leftmost one)
– Press the power button while still holding the 1st menu key
– When you see the image on the screen you can release the menu key
– Press the third menu key (the middle one) to call up the Service Menu
– Navigate in the service menu just like in the normal one, but now all options are changeable
– To return back to the normal mode just turn off the monitor and turn it back on the normal way



I’ve mentioned that the monitor has a 3D Vision IR emitter integrated and after taking an infrared photo of the monitor I’ve found it at the bottom left part of the monitor, it has four IR LEDs. Top positioning of the emitter might’ve been a better solution however, as getting very close to the monitor might lead to breaking visual line of sight and the glasses loosing the sync signal, however this is not something that will hardly lead to problems in a normal use scenario anyway. The interesting thing about the monitors with integrated IR emitters is that they do not need an extra USB cable to be plugged in the PC, all the synchronization goes through the DVI cable which makes things easier for setting up. The drawback of not having an external IR emitter for the 3D Vision is that you don’t have the handy button for turning on/off the 3D effect as well as the useful wheel for 3D depth adjustment, so you need to stick to the keyboard shortcuts for these actions. Of course there is no problem if you plug in an external IR emitter in the computer, the only thing is that you will not have both emitters running at the same time, so only the external one should be active. Another thing that you should consider with the Acer GN245HQ as well as the bigger Acer HN274H is that they only come in versions with built-in IR emitter and bundled active shutter glasses from Nvidia which makes their price higher than for only a monitor. This of course is useful if this is your first 3D-capable monitor as you get the whole bundle at once and with a more affordable price, but the total price won’t be as attractive if you already have 3D Vision glasses and IR emitter like if you are upgrading from an older 3D monitor.



The standard factory settings for the Acer GN245HQ monitor do not provide great color accuracy, there is quite high color deviation from the reference colors. But here more interesting is the result for the maximum brightness and contrast levels, according to the specifications the monitor should provide up to 300 cd/m2 and the measurement has showed 291 candelas per square meter which is pretty close, considering the fact that the monitor is not maxed out. The measured black level was about 0.267 cd/m2 and as a result the contrast level was about 1089:1 which is a bit over the specs of 1000:1, so a great performance here. Higher brightness levels and good contrast is a must for 3D-capable monitors in order for them to provide good experience when in darker environments in games or when watching dark scenes in 3D movies etc.



And how things change after going through a color calibration. Now the monitor has 247 cd/m2 maximum brightness as the calibration is done is a way to preserve the maximum possible brightness level, and still an average Delta E of less than 1 is achieved which means really good color accuracy can be achieved with even though this is a TN panel. After the calibration the black level is 0.264 cd/m2 and the contrast is reduced to about 926:1, but the image on the screen is also visually more pleasing as compared to the default settings, so it is not only something that can be measured with special hardware.

Still if you need a display in order to work with colors this might still not be the best choice, you better go for something more professional that is designed with color accuracy and for people working with colors. This is after all a gaming monitor, but it is up to you, with color calibration you can get really good results even from it, partly thanks to the LED backlight as well. On the other hand, if you are not into stereoscopic 3D multimedia or gaming and just need a good 120Hz LCD monitor, this one might be a good option to consider. Unfortunately the Acer GN245HQ is not without input lag, but the input lag measured was at maximum about 15 milliseconds with an average of about 8 which is pretty good and hardly noticeable even by users more sensitive to lag. Still it would’ve been nicer if there was no input lag at all, but there still seem to be very few 120Hz LCD monitors that don’t have input lag and the same goes for normal 60Hz non-3D displays as well.



Moving to the extreme crosstalk tests with the specially made 3D test photos that I’ve made available here should you wish to compare. The result here is quite good and very close to the one provided by the 27-inch Acer HN274H. If you take a closer look at the white result you will notice that the Acer GN245HQ also suffers from the same white banding issue that I’ve first noticed on the Planar SA2311W. This of course is a result of pushing the overdrive function in order to further reduce ghosting in stereo 3D mode and what you are seeing in the extreme test photos I’m using is not something that you will notice in normal use, so this is something that I’ve actually expected to see (the 27-inch Acer also had it, although less apparent).



Next is the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, a real world crosstalk test to show you that the specific issue described above does not usually create any problems with normal use for stereo 3D content. Here there is no crosstalk/ghosting visible with the named eye in normal use, although there is some slightly visible if you take a very closer look. Anyway, great result in this test, but not as good as the Planar SA2311W that is still probably the 3D LCD monitor with least crosstalk that I’ve tested so far.



Switching to a real game, namely Tomb Raider: Underworld as one of my favorite games to play in stereo 3D and to test for crosstalk/ghosting with. First looking at the top of the screen, very faint traces of ghosting that are hardly visible in normal use, very similar to what the Planar SA2311W 3D monitor provides and better than the 27-inch Ace HN274H.



The situation with the bottom part of the screen and the crosstalk there is a bit worse however, the color ghosting due to the overdrive here is slightly more apparent, although still in tolerable levels. Still the overall crosstalk/ghosting level is not that high, although the situation could’ve been better, tweaking a bit the Overdrive function might’ve provided a more balanced overall results and making the Acer GN245HQ perform even better in terms of crosstalk/ghosting or actually the lack of such.

Acer GN245HQ comes as a worthy successor of the previous Acer GD245HQ/GD235HZ, performing better and with some nice extra features, but it was a bit short on becoming the best overall 3D gaming LCD monitor currently available. It did not manage to overthrow Planar SA2311W by providing less crosstalk, although the Acer comes pretty close to the results show by the Planar in most tests. There is some input lag present, roughly the same amount as the old GD245HQ/GN235HQ had, which can be a bit of a setback for some more demanding gamers willing to get a 120Hz LCD monitor for gaming with 120Hz refresh rate and not in stereo 3D mode. The presence of HDMI 1.4 3D support is a nice extra, allowing you to use the monitor with more 3D-capable devices other than your PC, however you are still limited as there is no support for Side by Side, Over/Under and some other 3D input formats that are usually supported by 3D HDTVs. And the overall conclusion is that the Acer GN245HQ is actually a great choice if you are just going to be getting into stereo 3D support on the PC and not only. As there is still no perfect 3D monitor that excels in just about everything, the Acer GN245HQ does provide very good results in overall, and thanks to the built-in IR emitter and bundled 3D Vision glasses it is a good starter choice if you want a 24-inch 3D capable solution. If you are thinking about upgrading to the Acer GN245HQ, then it depends on what is your old stereo 3D monitor at the moment, if it is a first generation one from Samsung or Viewsonic, then you should upgrade… if not, then it depends on what your specific requirements are.

Tags: ······


41 responses so far ↓

  • 1 r00t // Jul 11, 2011 at 14:39

    Really hoped that they got rid of the crosstalk… Then the cup goes on to Asus and I have to wait another dozen weeks ;( Great review, would be nice if you could keep your ears open for any news from Asus^^

  • 2 vulcanproject // Jul 11, 2011 at 14:55

    Is there any better solution on the near horizon? This seems like the best all rounder going right now. The closest to the planar in crosstalk, better than the 27 incher. Hdmi 1.4 which the planar lacks, and this is also a better deal for those starting out with an RRP of £420 which is a bit more than the planar but this includes the active glasses and integrated emitter.
    Surely this is the best package you can get for the price with the most modern inputs?

  • 3 vulcanproject // Jul 11, 2011 at 14:57

    Oh yeah my only questiob was what was the backlight bleed like when the monitor goes into 3 D mode specifically because the ones i tried had bad bleeding only in 3D mode which was not very noticeable in 2d modes

  • 4 Kris // Jul 11, 2011 at 15:12

    I need some playstation 3 feedback on this one ;[

  • 5 CrystalCowboy // Jul 11, 2011 at 16:29

    The built-in IR transmitter is a new configuration – is this compatible with Linux usage?

    Previous monitors requiring the external emitter required a mini-DIN connection because the emitter driver could not properly send the sync signal over USB.

  • 6 CrystalCowboy // Jul 11, 2011 at 16:40

    The Acer press release of 14 April 2011 mentions a “HS244HQ” monitor. Is that equivalent to the GN245HQ? Different country code, or completely different product?

  • 7 Fess // Jul 11, 2011 at 18:38

    nice review thx! Now I am waiting for Samsung S27A950 and S27A750 review from you!

  • 8 Bloody // Jul 11, 2011 at 19:34

    The problem with the Acer GN245HQ is the availability and the same goes for the 27-inch model, they are still hard to find on the market and even not present on some markets at all.

    There is very slightly visible backlight bleeding near the bottom edge of the screen in 3D mode, but most people will hardly notice it at all. Of course this can vary from unit to unit, but I doubt that there will be some issues with backlight bleeding on this model.

    Not sure if the built-in IR emitter is supported under Linux, Nvidia released new drivers for Windows to add the support for monitors with built-in infrared emitters…

    The Acer HS244HQ is a completely different product, it is 3D monitor with only HDMI 1.4 input and one that comes bundled with Acer branded 3D shutter glasses, not Nvidia ones. It is not a good choice for PC gaming in stereo 3D mode and not a good replacement for a 3D HDTV as it also has the limitation of supporting only frame packaged stereo 3D content over the HDMI 1.4 interface, so no Side by Side or Over/Under.

    I don’t know about the new Samsung 3D monitors yet, not sure if I’ll be able to get them for testing, but up next is the passive LG Cinema 3D D2342 monitor…

  • 9 Vulcanproject // Jul 11, 2011 at 20:16

    So bloody the question is if it were your money and you only needed one monitor for Nvidia 3D, would it be this, the planar, or the 27 inch acer?

  • 10 Bloody // Jul 11, 2011 at 20:50

    In my specific case I would go for the Planar (already have it), as I already have bought a few sets of 3D Vision shutter glasses and I don’t need the HDMI 1.4 support on the monitor. Even thought the Acer is with slightly lower input lag as compared to the Planar. But this is in my specific case, if I did not have a 3D HDTV already and I was choosing my first 3D monitor either this or the 27-inch Acer would’ve been my choice. Acer GN245HQ and Acer HN274H actually do have pretty close performance results in stereo 3D, although they do have some differences, so choosing between the two is mostly decided based on the price difference… ;)

  • 11 Utgardaloki // Jul 11, 2011 at 20:53

    Some what OP but this review posted below from Hi Tech Legion of the Acer HN274H seems to state something else than the 3Dvision blog one does. Very clear crosstalk in the Tomb raider boat scene but only before “proper” calibration (first boat photo). Afterwards it seems to be more or less gone quite on par with the Planar result (last/third boat photo). What gives?
    http://www.hitechlegion.com/reviews/monitors/9761-acer-hn274h-27inch-120hz-monitor?start=7

  • 12 Vulcanproject // Jul 11, 2011 at 21:11

    Money is not a problem for me. Would you value the extra size of the 27 Acer over the slightly superior response of this monitor? I am unsure because the larger version appears to have a bit more crosstalk and not sure about only 1920 x 1080 at that size too.

    Are there any attractive looking alternatives out in the near future?

  • 13 Utgardaloki // Jul 11, 2011 at 21:22

    @Vulcanproject
    Did you click the link in my previous post? The 27-inch Acer seems to be pretty darn okay regarding crosstalk after some calibration has been performed. But what I don’t yet know is if the colour saturation and overall brightness of the screen continues to be good enough after this particular calibration. I would really like to hear Bloody’s comment about this if possible.

    Anyway… I would like to take the opportunity to thank Bloody for this awesome blog. Thanks for all your efforts. They are highly appreciated and I normally check in at least once per day. Two thumbs up.

    And by the by… I meant O(ff) (T)opic. Not OP.

  • 14 Bloody // Jul 11, 2011 at 21:31

    Utgardaloki, by specs the 27-inch Acer should provide 300 cd/m2 max brightness, but I’ve measured actual value of about 500 cd/m2. It is a known fact that reducing the brightness can lead to lower level of crosstalk on most monitors and the Acer HN274H can easily handle some brightness reduction. Reducing the RGB values effectively reduces the brightness level and may also reduce the “color ghosting effect” caused by the overdrive when pushing the RGB values too high, however it can also lead to improper color reproduction. Reducing the brightness level too much may bring problems in darker scenes, leading to loss of visual detail when in stereo 3D mode.

    Vulcanproject, in my opinion the 27-inch size offers the optimum size for a 3D monitor immersive wise, slight difference in crosstalk is something that I can easily handle…

  • 15 MartinH // Jul 11, 2011 at 21:41

    Could you test this 3D picture and send me the L side please?
    http://img192.imageshack.us/i/dddalt.jpg/

    Regards.

  • 16 Utgardaloki // Jul 11, 2011 at 21:55

    A bit OT again but seing how many are trying to decide between the 24-inch Acer and the 27-inch one I recon this to be a quite valid question:
    Bloody, you wouldn’t happen to have any saved notes about cd/m2 brightness at around 70/70/70 RGB-settings on the 27-inch Acer would you? I’ve been waiting for your review on the 24-inch Acer for some time to compare it to the 27-inch Acer and now as both reviews are out I’m certainly leaning towards the 27-inch one. But if the crosstalk only goes away below acceptable levels of colour saturation and brightness there is really no point to try to get rid of it on the 27-inch screen. I would (still) have to live with some quite apparent crosstalk. The 24-inch one on the other hand seems a little bit too dim in my opinion potentially making calibration harder so for me that one is out.

  • 17 Bloody // Jul 11, 2011 at 22:04

    MartinH, here you go:

    http://oi53.tinypic.com/3348akw.jpg
    http://oi52.tinypic.com/2d7ud6f.jpg

    Utgardaloki, the 24-inch model has a more apparent “color ghosting” as compared to the 27-inch, so it seems that LG’s Overdrive implementation in their panel is better than CMI’s in the 23.6 panel. I don’t remember going to 70/70/70 for the RGB on the 27-inch model and unfortunately I have returned the test unit a while ago, but calibrating it did required lowering the RGB settings at least in the 90s in order to have the maximum amount of brightness even after the calibration and this has reduced the ghosting a bit. However when testing for ghosting I’m testing at factory default settings, so that you will know what you are getting out of the box. Playing with the settings can have slightly different effects on different units as even though they are the same model.

  • 18 Utgardaloki // Jul 11, 2011 at 22:16

    Thanks a lot for your help Bloody. Very good information. So 3 27-inch Acer HN274H it is then :)

    Cheers..

  • 19 MartinH // Jul 11, 2011 at 22:17

    Thanks a lot.

    The crosstalk is very present… Could you find a better setup?

    On my GD245HQ (not the GN245HQ), I’ve set zero in Brightness and 40 for Contrast, this is my best setup to hide crosstalk:

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/512/865162201.jpg/

  • 20 MartinH // Jul 11, 2011 at 22:35

    The Brightness in 3D is 100, not zero… My bad.

  • 21 Bloody // Jul 11, 2011 at 22:47

    MartinH, have in mind that this test image from DDD is intended for dual projector passive 3D setup alignment and not for crosstalk/ghosting testing… the effect it provides is more like the extreme crosstalk 3D test photos I’m using and not to real world usage scenario.

  • 22 Vulcanproject // Jul 11, 2011 at 23:04

    I guess the Acer 27 incher is a good choice then if you want a bigger monitot. I did note when i had the GN245HQ how much colour crosstalk there was.

    What other 27 inchers are out soon?

  • 23 MartinH // Jul 11, 2011 at 23:32

    Maybe, anyway it tells a lot about Crosstalk.

    Look here: 35 3D screens exposed:
    http://www.lesnumeriques.com/legrandforum/avis/Ecrans-TV-Videoprojecteurs/crosstalk-videos-unique-sujet_6950_26.htm#t214286

    The DDD image on my monitor, shows exactly what I see in game if the contrast of the game is similar. I’ll take some picture of it.

  • 24 Arioch // Jul 12, 2011 at 20:43

    I would rather have some crosstalk then adjust my monitor to the point where it lowers the overall image quality. I currently have an Alienware AW2310, and while the larger monitor size is tempting, I am probably going to wait until 2012 before looking for an upgrade.

  • 25 Johan // Jul 13, 2011 at 11:30

    I have tested a couple of LCD 3D monitors for professional Nvidia 3D Vision (Quadro-) use and I agree with your conclusion, the Planar still somewhat better in 3D then competitor LCD monitors!

  • 26 Mustang // Jul 13, 2011 at 20:38

    Thanks for the review Bloody. I get the impression that the new monitor models this year have only made slight performance progress.

  • 27 Subsy // Jul 15, 2011 at 13:57

    Hey Bloody thanks for the review.

    I have found local stock of the older GD245HQ – is this a model still worth considering – it seems reasonably priced (and thats important since I want two, eventually three of these things)

    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/prods/monitors/24inchmonitors/ET.UG5HE.009.html

    thoughts?

  • 28 Bloody // Jul 15, 2011 at 15:03

    I would not recommend you to buy the old GD245HQ at the moment, unless the price is really, really attractive so you won’t be able to resist ;)

    You might also want to check for good prices of LG W2363D for example for a better performing solution that is one of the best overall 3D models from last year…

  • 29 orbidia // Jul 17, 2011 at 12:05

    Bloody,

    Are the bundled Nvidia 3D Vision glasses the updated 2011 glasses with the longer battery life? Or are they still bundling the older glasses with the shorter battery life?

  • 30 spok // Jul 17, 2011 at 19:02

    Kris asked if it is possible 2 test it also with PS3, so i would like 2 know also if u can update this review by testing 3D game on it thx

  • 31 Capt // Jul 19, 2011 at 19:54

    Hi Bloody,
    what is the date of manufacture of your GN245HQ?
    My monitor is February 2011 and service menu shows panel:
    CMI 236H3-L05

  • 32 Bloody // Jul 19, 2011 at 21:42

    Dec 2011, it is one of the earliest samples produced. Do you notice any differences about the performance of yours?

  • 33 Hellhoundwp // Jul 23, 2011 at 00:50

    Has this monitor been tested on a AMD/ATI GPU? If it works can you use it with Eyefinity?

  • 34 tigerman // Jul 31, 2011 at 18:37

    I’m still with the crappy samsung 22 inches 2233rz with that ugly top of the screen ghosting.
    My local shop has this Acer and i really liked it, so i’m in the middle of deciding to get the LG or this one..
    can you please complete/correct/confirm this comparison between the acer and LG?
    expecially crosstalk, it looks that acer has worst results on the bottom side compared to LG, am i right?

    Acer vs LG
    size 23,6 vs 23
    hdmi 1.4 -> only acer
    colors -> LG better
    brightness in 3D -> ?!?
    crosstalk/ghosting -> ?!?
    input lag -> LG better in 2d only

    also i’ve tried disabling overdrive at my local shop but i haven’t seen any noticeable difference like it was on the older acer model, have you tried disabling OD for 2d?

    last question, as i’m suffering now of top of screen ghosting with the samsung 2233rz, is there the risk to have the same issue if i get the LG ? as Acer as embedded emitter it’s sure this issue will not appear at all..

    So, finally, what monitor do you suggest between those 2 (or maybe others), i don’t care much about colors to be honest, i just want a ghost free 3d and possibly no input lag at least in 2d.

    and many thanks for your blog !!

  • 35 tigerman // Jul 31, 2011 at 18:40

    i’m talking about LG W2363D , sorry

  • 36 Confusedmen // Nov 15, 2011 at 04:54

    So a quick question I’m either going to buy this (GN145HQ) or samsung S23A750D. Which one do you guys think is he better option ?

  • 37 MaybeRegretful // Nov 18, 2011 at 04:06

    Hey guys, dont know if this thread is still alive, but ive got the acer hs244hq and ive got some questions. First of, is it possile to go over 60hz at the native resolution? I bought the damn thing under the impression that i could game at 120hz but ive only found 75hz and that is at reolutions that dont fit me at all. Ive tried both the HDMI and VGA(to dvi) and same results. Ive got a geforce 560ti wich is supposed to be 3dready, came with a 1.4hdmi adapter and all.. I also wonder about drivers for the monitor, my computer registers the monitor as a “generic PNP” and wont update the drivers beyond an old one from 2006. I downloaded a driver from Acers website, but ny computer seems to think that the current one is better and wont install it.

  • 38 Bloody // Nov 18, 2011 at 10:39

    Acer hs244hq is a 3D monitor that uses only HDMI 1.4 interface, it does not support 120Hz and is not compatible with 3D Vision. The display comes with a set of Acer branded 3D glasses that are different from the 3D Vision glasses and are not compatible with each other. The monitor is also not supported over the 3DTV play software officially, but you might be able to make it work using some of the workaround solutions for making non-compatible 3D displays recognized as compatible ones.

  • 39 Bonisagus // Nov 28, 2011 at 17:04

    So, I’m thinking of replacing a dead screen with my first 3D setup. Is this (GN245HQ) a good choice to pair with my 2 x GTX460 SLI? I can’t justify the money for the 27″ so it’s this or the ASUS VG236HE.

    I like that this has everything I need in the box (I think, please tell me if it doesn’t!).

  • 40 Rohan // Jul 29, 2013 at 11:46

    I want 24-inch (Acer GN245HQ 120Hz 3D-capable LCD Gaming Monitor) from where i can buy it. help me frndz but in cash on delivery.

  • 41 martin // May 28, 2015 at 12:19

    is ghosting test made in 120 hz

Leave a Comment