3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Review of the 23″ Planar SA2311W 3D Vision-ready LCD Monitor

January 10th, 2011 · 37 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


The 23-inch Planar SA2311W 3D Vision-ready LCD monitor is one of the newer 3D display solutions designed to work with Nvidia’s 3D Vision technology that just became available on the market and I already had the chance to get one of the first units available in Europe to test. When Planar, a company that is specialized in high-end professional stereoscopic 3D displays announced that monitor I was quite eager to test it and I was already set with high expectations for the performance it should offer. Have in mind that the SA2311W monitor is Planar’s first consumer oriented 3D product, designed for use by both professionals for work as well as by gamers. As usual the review is focused mostly on the stereo 3D performance of the monitor, although I will cover some general aspects as well that might be interesting for gamers that prefer to play with 120Hz refresh rate in “plain 3D” instead with 60Hz per eye in stereo 3D mode.



Planar SA2311W is a 23-inch 3D-capable Full HD monitor with a height adjustable stand that makes it more flexible to different work places. The display comes with Dual-Link DVI, HDMI (1.3) and VGA ports, but for stereoscopic 3D use you can only rely on the DL DVI interface. Below you can find the full officially available specifications of the monitor…

Planar SA2311W Specifications:

Panel Size: 23″ (58.4cm) Wide Screen 16:9, TN
Native Resolution: 1920×1080 pixels
Pixel Pitch: 0.2655 mm
Brightness(Max): 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio (Max.): ?
Viewing Angles (CR≧10): ?
Response Time: 2 ms (GtG)
Video Inputs: Dual-link DVI-D, HDMI, VGA
Power Consumption: ?
Monitor stand: tilt +20°~-5°, swivel and height adjustment
Dimension (WxHxD): 21.5″ x 14.8″ x 8.3″ (546.33 x 377 x 210.5 mm)
Weight: 7 kg



Here are the two menus you have available for control of the monitor in 2D mode through the DVI interface. Notice that the monitor has an ECO mode that can reduce the brightness level and also save energy, the default brightness and contrast settings for 2D mode are a bit high anyway, so activating the ECO mode makes the image more easier on the eyes. Another useful feature is the option to enable and disable the OverDrive (OD) function and also the ability to control the sharpness, the display does not have problems with over-sharpening with OD active, but you generally don’t need the overdrive mode active in 2D mode anyway. In stereo 3D mode of course the OverDrive function is active by default as you need the faster response it gets you and thus you get reduced crosstalk/ghosting, and we’ll see the level you can expect from this new monitor in a bit. When in stereo 3D mode most of these controls are being disabled and you are pretty much left with controlling the contrast (the actual level of brightness) of the display with the default setting being at 80.



Here is how the service menu of the Planar monitor looks like in 2D and in stereo 3D mode with its default settings as a reference should you mess them up in some way without having recorder their default settings. If you’ve read the Acer GD245HQ/GD235HZ monitor review from last year, you’ll see that the service menu is very similar to that of the Acer, and you can get into it the same way too. But there is no need for you to mess with the service menu of the monitor, except for seeing the hours the monitor has been used as a reference. What is interesting as information that I’ve learned from the service menu however is that the Planar monitor is using the following LCD panel SEC LTM230HU01, apparently Samsung Electronics has a new 23-inch 3D-capable LCD panel that they are not yet using in their own products. And here comes the question how good is the new panel as compared to their previous 22-inch one?

Accessing the Service Menu on Planar SA2311W LCD Monitor

- Turn off the monitor by pressing the Power button
- Press and hold the Menu button and then push the Power button to turn on the monitor
- When you see the image on screen you can release the Menu button and press it again to call up the Service Menu
- When you finish with the service menu you can turn the monitor off and then on again to be back in the normal mode

The gamers that prefer to play in “plain 3D” and not in stereo 3D might not be very happy due to the fact that the Planar SA2311W monitor exhibits some input lag, the values measured vary from 0 to 24 ms with an average of about 10 ms, something which is quite good considering that most of the 3D-capable 120Hz monitors do have some input lag. Next comes the question about backlight bleeding, the Planar unit I reviewed has quite even backlight with a slightly brighter areas at the top center corner and the lower end a bit on the left, but nothing that is seriously disturbing. So you can consider the new Samsung panel to be quite good, but not quite there yet in all areas, especially considering the fact that their early model had no input lag at all, but it also was not with a perfect backlight distribution. But Anyway, these are not serious issues, so we can move on to the color accuracy next and after that to test the performance you get in stereo 3D mode and the part I’m sure you are most eager to find out about – the level of crosstalk you can expect.



The default settings of the monitor show colors that are a bit of from their optimum, however the gamma and color temperature is with much less deviation. And the maximum brightness measured was 259 cd/m2 with the monitor not being pushed to maximum brightness which means that it can push up to 300 cd/m2 as an absolute maximum. The contrast level is 952:1 which is very close to 1000:1 that this panel from Samsung should be rated at |(non dynamic contrast) and the black point measured was a bit high, due to the higher brightness, measured at about 0.28 cd/m2. Visually, aside from the higher brightness, the display looks quite good even in its factory settings, but let us see how things change after calibrating it.



Have in mind that the calibration results above were achieved with a setting that is trying to preserve the maximum possible brightness level of the display, so if you are going for a lower and more comfortable brightness level for work in 2D mode then you might be able to get even better results. Even though with an average difference of just 0.6 and a maximum one of 1.4 (partly due to the higher brightness), the color deviation is quite low, making the display rate as a very good one after being calibrated even for work with colors. But this is related only to working in 2D mode and doing tasks where color reproduction matters, as when gaming in plain 3D or stereo 3D mode the color reproduction is the least of the things to worry about.



I’m starting with one of my more recent tests using special photos for finding the level of crosstalk by going to black and white, the test photos are available here, so if you wish you can compare your monitor as well. As you can see quite good performance as compared to other monitors, but there is still some crosstalk present, not that I expected it to magically disappear, as this is something that is still a technological issue. And even though things develop and the level of crosstalk gets lower on a newer LCD monitors, we a re still a bit far from getting completely rid of it. This however is a specially developed test to show the issue and actually does not represent the real usage scenarios, as there the situations are usually not as extreme as with the test photos. In this test I’ve noticed something strange and that is the slight gradation in the white as you can see on the left part of the image, so I went and investigated further in this…



Unlike in the tests above, where I shot the test photos only through one of the lenses of the glasses, on this test photo I’m not using the shutter glasses, but instead I shot directly the monitor showing a 3D image. So do not use the photo above to judge for level of ghosting as it is not intended for that, but it is to investigate the strange gradation of white I’ve noticed in the the above test photos. This photo uses black on white for the two eyes as this makes the strange color gradation of the white to be most apparent and it turns out that this issue is somewhat related to the OverDrive function as well as the current level of brightness (the contrast setting) of the monitor. If I disable the OverDrive through the system menu the problem with the gradation of the white disappears, but in turn I get a lot of crosstalk which is to be expected. If I push the contrast setting (the brightness) of the display to the maximum value of 100 again the problem disappears and the white is even again, but then I get more ghosting and more specifically color ghosting. The best choice I’ve found to minimize the issue was to lower the contrast setting a bit to about 50-60 which almost gets rid of the white gradation and lowers a b it more the crosstalk as well, but the image on the screen also gets slightly darker in stereo 3D mode. I should note that this white color gradation issue is only noticeable in some specific extreme scenarios that normally would not appear in real world use, so you should not be worried about experiencing it normally. Meanwhile I’ll see if it can be resolved in another way by also talking with Planar about it, so stay tuned for more information. And now lets wee how things look like in real world usage of the monitor for stereoscopic 3D entertainment…



Now, moving to one of my favorite tests – the sailboats stereoscopic 3D test video, finally a real world crosstalk test to show you that the specific issue described above does not create problems with normal use for stereo 3D content. Planar SA2311W is actually the first 3D-capable LCD monitor that I’ve tested and that does not show any, and I really mean any ghosting in this video, the previous monitor from Asus I’ve tested was almost there, but there was still some slight ghosting. So in this test the Planar SA2311W performs as good as a good 3D HDTV like the Panasonic VT20E for example that also does not show any ghosting in this test video. But lets see how things move on with some more real world applications like game sin stereo 3D mode.



Moving to Tomb Raider: Underworld and one of my favorite scenes in the game that I use for checking the 3D monitors of the level of top and bottom ghosting due to the contrasting scenes that are more prone to having crosstalk/ghosting. Starting with the top ghosting, again surprisingly good results with a very faint afterimage leaking at the top of the screen and again making the Planar the best performing in this test monitor that I’ve tested so far.



Moving to the bottom screen crosstalk/ghosting test, again by using the game Tomb Raider: Underworld, this time looking for color ghosting… another issue that is caused by the OverDrive function that leads to pixels not appearing as faint dark shadows in terms of crosstalk, but as much more apparent brightly colored afterimage. Again very good results, probably the best so far as although there is some color ghosting it is quite faint again and much better than the previous results I’ve got. Of course pushing the value of the contrast setting in 3D mode to the maximum can make the top and bottom ghosting more apparent, the default factory setting of 80 does produce really good results.

As I’ve mentioned above already, by lowering the level of contrast (the brightness of the display) from the default factory setting of 80 to something in between 50 and 60 you can get even slightly less crosstalk with the image getting a bit darker, so you have an option to get even better results. But as I’ve mentioned, even at the default settings the Planar SA2311W performs very good with the smallest levels of crosstalk I’ve seen so far through all the 3D Vision-ready LCD monitors I’ve tested. It has become somewhat of a tradition that every new model of a 3D-capable LCD monitor I test here is performing better than the previous and has less crosstalk than the previous one and Planar SA2311W is no exception. With that said I think it is about time that I replace my old and trustworthy Samsing 2233RZ monitor with the one from Planar which also uses an LCD panel made by Samsung Electronics.

- The 23-inch Planar SA2311W 3D Vision-ready monitor is available here…


Other similar posts you might be interested in:

Tags: ·······


37 responses so far ↓

  • 1 mihabolil // Jan 10, 2011 at 20:15

    Nice review, it seems to be a really GOOD screen!

  • 2 Dave G. // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:01

    That is surprising to hear. I didn’t think an LCD screen would be able to nail the crosstalk issue. I figured plasma screens were the only pro solution.

  • 3 Bloody // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:08

    With LCD monitors things are improving step by step as I’m seeing with every new monitor that I test. Plasmas are still performing better, but they are not completely free of crosstalk either…

  • 4 MartinM // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:19

    Could you test the ghosting with this DDD (TriDef) picture:
    http://img192.imageshack.us/i/dddalt.jpg/

    This one is fun too:
    http://img830.imageshack.us/i/flyj.jpg/

    Regards.

    Other ghosting test:

    TV3D

    Panasonic VT20 / GT20
    Sony HX800 / HX900
    Samsung C750 / C6970 / C7700 / C8700
    LG LEX8 / LX9500
    et
    Philips 8605H

    http://img34.imageshack.us/i/nmir3.png/

    Moniteur 3D

    Samsung 2233RZ
    http://img153.imageshack.us/i/2233rzl1.jpg/

    Acer GD245HQ
    http://img512.imageshack.us/i/865162201.jpg/

    Asus VG236H
    http://img189.imageshack.us/i/79604127.jpg/

    Viewsonic VX2268wm
    http://img406.imageshack.us/i/snc00160s.jpg/

    LG W2363D
    http://img24.imageshack.us/i/dc69b658dec17e9d9516f49.jpg/

  • 5 x_phir3 // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:43

    Thank you very much!!!! I have been waiting for this since I bought my 2233RZ :D

  • 6 Ryan // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:43

    Wow, finally a LCD panel with minimal ghosting. Great to see! I use a H5360 projector just because I can’t tolerate ghosting. Maybe I’ll have to look into this panel for my next computer.

  • 7 Mathew Orman // Jan 10, 2011 at 21:54

    Wow,
    that is fantastic. Is it LED back-lighted?

    Mathew Orman

  • 8 Ferry // Jan 10, 2011 at 22:39

    Hopefully it will appear in the shops in Europe soon…
    Haven’t seen any so far,even not on the sites of the retailers

  • 9 Bloody // Jan 10, 2011 at 23:07

    Here is the DDD image on the Planar monitor: http://oi56.tinypic.com/159ixx.jpg

    No, it is not with LED backlight, but LED backlight doesn’t guarantee better results.

    It should already be available in Europe, you can contact Planar’s European office for information about their partners in different countries and where yo can get it from.

  • 10 Rhialto // Jan 10, 2011 at 23:23

    Can’t wait for the review of the 1st 27″ and hope it will perform like this.

  • 11 MartinM // Jan 11, 2011 at 01:36

    Thanks Bloody.

  • 12 cybereality // Jan 11, 2011 at 06:18

    Wow! That quality looks amazing. I am so getting this monitor. Right now I am using the Zalman Trimon and ghosting is not horrible, but I’m sick of the half-resolution. Need the FullHD. Here is a quick pic of the Zalman ghosting:

    http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/3286/zalmanghosting.jpg

  • 13 eqzitara // Jan 11, 2011 at 06:42

    Does tridef ignition work with it?

  • 14 Daniel Stange // Jan 11, 2011 at 11:00

    I just wanted to leave a comment and thank you for an absolutely stellar job as usual dude! You fucking rock man! Love this site to death.

    The display looks fucking good; that top/bottom ghosting is soooo close to being gone! I think i’m just about ready to retire the 2233. Cash is slow these days, and, as it seems like each new display by tradition improves I think I will hold out just a little longer and see if they can finally once and for all nail the perfect ghost free LCD display.

    It’s becoming clear to me that that day is very near and I will have to begin setting aside some cash in preparation.

    Software is still an issue but that is generally always the case with pc’s and will likely always be the case until the end of time. At least official support has been steadily increasing.

    I’m rambling though,
    Keep up the great work!

  • 15 Scott1620 // Jan 11, 2011 at 16:42

    Nice review, look like this monitor paired with a GTX 570 will be my first experience with 3D gaming. Wish it was cheaper though :)

  • 16 Rhialto // Jan 11, 2011 at 18:15

    @Scott1620

    I play 3D games on a 19″ CRT and a 8800 GTS 512 so the only thing I had to buy was the 3D Vision kit. Not expensive to me.

    I don’t play games in 1920×1080 resolution though and that’s what is nice with a CRT as I would hate playing non-native on a LCD. So the day I will upgrade my screen I will have to upgrade my video card too but unlikely I will buy 2 cards…

    I have fun playing H4D2 almost every evening, the Versus mode is great.

  • 17 DM // Jan 13, 2011 at 06:10

    Thanks Bloody – great review! I’m pretty anxious about the new 27″ from Acer you mentioned in your other post, but if it’s not coming within the next 3+ months I might just give up and buy this one instead, even despite the input lag ;) (which the new 27-inch monitor might also have!)

  • 18 Bonom Denej // Jan 17, 2011 at 15:40

    Wow, pretty cool, I’m still happy with my Acer GD245HQ though ^^

  • 19 Fapster // Feb 4, 2011 at 19:53

    Just wanted to say that it seems odd how difficult it is to find a thorough review on this monitor but I went ahead and pulled the trigger on it based solely on this review and am 100% satisfied with it.

    Very beautiful monitor and very little crosstalk. It would’ve been completely off the radar for me if it wasn’t for your review but it turns out to be exactly what I was looking for. Thanks Bloody!

  • 20 Rob G // Feb 10, 2011 at 11:06

    “The gamers that prefer to play in “plain 3D” and not in stereo 3D might not be very happy due to the fact that the Planar SA2311W monitor exhibits some input lag, the values measured vary from 0 to 24 ms with an average of about 10 ms, something which is quite good considering that most of the 3D-capable 120Hz monitors do have some input lag.”

    No input lag test compared to the LG/2268/2233?

  • 21 Dale // Feb 13, 2011 at 22:27

    Does anybody know when this is available in Europe/United Kingdom? I have trawled the internet for hours, can find it for sale in USA and Canada but nothing for Europe. There is one place in Germany selling it through ebay but it is a rip off at £800! Any ideas when it is due out? I have emailed Planar asking, will let you know what the reply is, unless anyone can place link to buying it? Thanks!

  • 22 Dale // Feb 15, 2011 at 16:32

    I have found a retailer in the UK. The monitor is selling for £435 including vat and postage. It is £565 including vision kit. I would go for the monitor and buy kit cheaper elsewhere.

  • 23 Dale // Feb 18, 2011 at 21:02

    this monitor is available from Inition in the UK but it will cost alot more than i thought. It is coming in around £500 without postage, so i think getting from elsewhere in Europe may be better….

  • 24 Denis // Mar 2, 2011 at 06:57

    I just upgraded to this monitor from a 22 inch Samsung 226bw. I was hoping the 120hz would improve the experience in 2D by improving image quality when moving my view point rapidly in a FPS shooters. All of a sudden I’m ranked number one in the scoreboards on all the games I tried! Woohoooo!

    Reality: actually the difference is so subtle it’s virtually non-existent. Yes, I did set my settings to use 120hz and the monitor OSD confirms it. I’m not saying this is a bad monitor, I’m just saying that there’s one player out there on the innernets for whom there’s no real difference between an “old” 226bw and the latest and greatest 120hz monitor.

    On the bright side, maybe 3D will be awesome… whenever I acquire an Nvidia card… *sigh*

  • 25 LA Smog // Mar 4, 2011 at 03:23

    So I picked up this monitor based off this review. There aren’t any other useful/full reviews so far, making it hard to have a reference of what the monitor really can do.

    First thing I did when I plugged it in and booted Windows was to set the desktop to 120hz. Basically I plan on running everything on the system at the full 120hz all the time.

    The second thing I did was try to balance the color. Wow are the colors off. Color balance seems to be VERY blue on the 6500 setting. I have attempted to balance it in the service menu but I don’t have the eye to balance it correctly and other problems are making it a little difficult to hit the target color balance. So I set the current colors to R-128, G-128, B-124 as a temporary balance point.

    Problem #1: Right now I have some pretty poor back light bleeding on the top and bottom of the unit. I have angled the unit facing down a bit to balance out the screen because of this:

    http://i1183.photobucket.com/albums/x462/LASmog/backlightbleed.jpg

    Problem #2: The brightness and contrast of the unit seem quite hard to get to a decent equilibrium. Again, my eye for it isn’t very good but I can tell it’s off… just not how to fix it. I was using a quick online reference to get a decent look out of the monitor since I lost the actual hardware/software calibrator to a client that “borrowed” it without returning it:

    http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

    Problem #3: Desktop ghosting is not highly noticeable for the cursor and some moving items, but large changes that are blackgrey are definitely noticeable. Switching overdrive on and off definitely shows differences in how it reacts, but both settings are just different ghosting issues. Sorry, I don’t have a camera decent enough to take a shot of it to show you.

    Having said all this, I tried the Pixel Persistence Analyzer v1.011e software and played a couple of games in 120hz 2D with some good results overall. Yes, I played 2D not 3D but I don’t have the glasses and really I was just hoping to get smooth play from my games more than the 3D.

    Pixel Persistence Analyzer v1.011e: Some oddities with this software. The CPU overhead was constantly flickering between 50% and 0%, the framerate flickered between 120hz and 45hz, and the movement of the racer was really uneven in speed. Seriously: Fast, slow, fast, slow… I am not blaming the monitor one single bit on this, this is inherently and completely a Windows/settings problem. I am still trying to narrow down where the issue really is (monitor driver? video card driver? Windows video layer problem?) within the computer.

    Champions Online: I played this in a Window (as I do with most MMOs). Not really fast paced, but lots of solid colors that might help to notice ghosting/color bleeding. The results for me were fairly neutral. It was slightly smoother but I played in a window and had quite a few hiccups in just looking around that are probably related to issues with Windows itself not liking the desktop running in 120hz.

    Battlefield: Bad Company 2: Oh my. OH MY. While I noticed ghosting on the desktop, this was a really smooth visual experience. Yes there was ghosting, but once you are actually paying attention to the game play it is almost completely unnoticeable. While my video card (nVidia GTX 275) can’t drive the game at all settings maxed while still doing 120hz, I turned a few settings down and was able to keep a framerate above 80 almost constant. This was enough to really notice and enjoy the framerate boost compared to my old monitor. The fluidity, smoothness and reactivity really did add a nice small boost to my enjoyment of the game.

    My quick review opinion? It’s a mediocre monitor at best, but when it works it adds a nice little pizazz to the gameplay experience.

    Now to figure out my hitching issue…

  • 26 LA Smog // Mar 4, 2011 at 03:23

    Wow, that was way longer than I thought it was going to be.

  • 27 root // Mar 10, 2011 at 18:23

    Thank you for this review, your website is the most helpful for anyone searching a 3d-monitor! I once owned the Acer GD245HQ but had much trouble with it cause of ‘backlightbleeding’. Finally it is on its way back to Amazon so I need a new one, thinking about buying the Planar which seems the qualitative best monitor on the market at the moment with best ghosting-results. May you please tell me whether there is any backlightbleeding visible on the Planar with 3d activated? To see some examples, just google ’3d backlight bleeding’ for pics. Thanks a lot!

  • 28 Bloody // Mar 10, 2011 at 19:10

    Read the review again, your question is already answered in it… but in short, slight backlight bleeding at some of the edges, however nothing serious.

  • 29 root // Mar 10, 2011 at 19:37

    Thanks for the fast answer, the normal backlightbleeding you can see on most monitors is no problem to me, I meant something like this: You can chase anybody with these horrible stripes^^ P.S.: They are not caused by the angle of view, watching the display directly they are best visible-.-

  • 30 root // Mar 10, 2011 at 19:38

    Sry, the link got lost…
    http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/662/xl2410tbleeding.jpg

  • 31 Bloody // Mar 10, 2011 at 21:06

    I’ve seen the same situation with that particular model from BenQ, but since it was a pre-production sample I though it could be due to that fact. And the BenQ XL2410T is the first one to use LED backlight, although it did not do it any good. The Planar is much much better than this… ;)

  • 32 root // Mar 13, 2011 at 15:59

    That’s good to hear, I’m going to order the Planar the next days and got a very nice offer by Schneider-digital. If the Planar is as good as mentioned above, they will make me very happy :)

  • 33 Dirk // May 21, 2011 at 00:32

    Nice review, thanks a bunch!

    Can you give us a feeling about the viewing angle? Most people don’t care, but for my application I need to look at it at an angle, and most other monitors suck rocks in that respect…

    Thanks!

  • 34 Nathan // Jun 13, 2011 at 05:38

    Hey Bloody! Like root said, I also owned the Acer GD245HQ. It’s not a very good monitor for backlight bleeding, haha. But I’ve moved on to this Planar model. I noticed a strange and slightly annoying issue where in 3D mode, it appears as if the screen is wavy. There are about 5 vertical columns on the screen that appear brighter than the rest of the image and it’s most noticeable in darker game (which I tend to play). I noticed it a little with my old Acer. Is this normal for 3D monitors?

  • 35 Caleb_S // Jul 25, 2011 at 08:01

    LA Smog, thanks for your thoughts after purchase. What was your previous monitor?

  • 36 Caleb_S // Aug 21, 2011 at 18:38

    I just picked up the Planar SW2311w. I read this review and got pretty excited about it. After using this monitor for about a week I wanted to post back my thoughts. (I should state that I have not used this for 3d gaming, but only 2d at this point).

    My background is that I came from playing on a Sony Trinitron 21″ CRT for many years. I loved that monitor. I had to give that up about 3 years ago after moving into a condo that did not have the space for that huge monstricity of a monitor. I purchased an Asus Vk246H. It took me a long time to adjust to an LCD, I’m very picky about input lag and ghosting. I finally adjusted after a period of time.

    Then came a new system build just 2 months ago. I stumbled upon this blog which seemed like the holy grale for monitor reviews. Bloody is very detailed and does a great job and providing some objective data, for a very subjective product.
    After reading the reviews, I was pinned between the Acer GD235HZ and the Planar SA2311W since the new Acer GN245HQ is nowhere to be found in the US. I ended up going with the GD235HZ because of the price and size. It’s .6” larger and I really think 24” is the perfect size for gaming.
    I got the monitor and was very impressed. I then began to notice some imperfections. The monitor skips a frame very 5 secs or so when running at 120hz. The Ghosting also seemed to dramatically increase after about 5 days of playing on it. I couldn’t figure it out. I ended up returning it and getting the Planar after a lot of time spent trying to get it to work. This actually provided me the opportunity to compare them side by side for several days. Here is what I found.
    - Acer has higher contrast and brighter colors. The planar has much cooler color temperatures that in all reality are more lifelike, but I have come to like brighter colors.
    - By comparison, the whites were much brighter on the Acer when compared to the Planar.
    - Both monitors and much better than my old Asus, hands down. However, the colors on the Asus are also brighter and it has a higher contrast ratio.
    - The Planar has this scanning effect that occurs every 30 secs or so. I tearing line goes up the monitor. I did some research and found that several others are having this problem.
    o http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?s=666eaf032d7ba9453e7f80081023cc9b&t=1587425&page=2
    - I agree with LA Smog and experienced that ghosting on the windows desktop is very noticeable. The Acer performed much better here.
    In game these monitors were very similar, but because of the Acer skips a frame frequently, I ended up staying with the Planar. I am having to adjust to the colors being much cooler. It sounds like LA Smog had a similar experience. It is highly noticeable when I compare even a webpage to my Asus. The colors on the Asus are much brighter.

    I also played Battlefield 2 Bad Company 2 like LA Smog. This was the game I used to compare to the Two monitors. It’s a much better experience then my Asus. However, I can’t say that LCD monitors are on par with my old Sony Trintron. These 120hz models certainly are a fast improvement over their 60hz counter parts but, in my experience they don’t yet match the old Trinitron CRT quite yet.
    If you want true to life colors, get the Planar. If you want brighter whites and brighter colors, wait for the new Acer GN245HQ to come out in the US, as I think that if Bloody says it’s an improvement over the older generation, then I bet it’s a good monitor having experienced the old generation.
    I will say this, for the first 5 days I had the Acer GD235HZ, my experience seems to be the best. At that point, it appeared to me that the monitor performed like my old CRT. Then something changed and I could never get it to perform like I had experienced. I don’t know what I did. I even reinstalled windows. But neither the GD235HZ nor the Planar ever performed like I first experienced. I’m left with either thinking this was just my perception, or that there is something that changed and these monitors are not performing like they really should and I did something wrong. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

    If you plan to purchase the Planar monitor pick it up from Provantage.com. The price is good.
    http://www.provantage.com/planar-systems-997-6161-00lf~7PLNR0F4.htm

  • 37 John // Sep 7, 2011 at 02:02

    Mine will be here tomorrow :-).
    Thanks for the write-up.

Leave a Comment

Current day month ye@r *