3D Vision Blog

A normal user's look into the world of 3D Stereo Technologies

3D Vision Blog header image 2

Acer GD235HZ/GD245HQ and 3D Vision Review for S3D Photography

February 9th, 2010 · 11 Comments · GeForce 3D Vision


David Gadbois did an interesting review of the new Acer GD235HZ/GD245HQ 120Hz display and its use along with Nvidia’s 3D Vision, but focusing on using the display for stereoscopic 3D photography and he sounds quite satisfied with it. So if you are interested in mostly viewing stereo 3D photos with this new 3D-ready 120Hz Full HD monitor you should check what Dave has to say about it, also don’t forget to read my review of the monitor which is focusing mostly on gaming performance compared to the first generation models.

To read Dave’s Acer GD235HZ/GD245HQ and 3D Vision Review…
To read my Acer Aspire GD245HQ 120Hz 3D Vision-ready Monitor Review

Tags: ····


11 responses so far ↓

  • 1 jacob pederson // Feb 10, 2010 at 00:45

    Whats that the Acer is sitting on? It wouldn’t be a monster 10mb Ethernet hub by any chance :P

  • 2 Dave G. // Feb 10, 2010 at 01:17

    Jacob,

    No, it is an old, old, old-school power center. I don’t think they even make these things any more. I just dust the cobwebs off every few years. Works great for me.

    FWIW, I updated the article. Fixed a few late-night typos, and added information about the computer I used for testing, as well as some additional comments on mitigating the ghosting issue.

    Cheers.

  • 3 wally mgee // Feb 10, 2010 at 04:58

    dave g, have/did you try record video with your camera setup ? you could use the open left+right option in “NVIDIA 3D Vision Video Player”

  • 4 Dave G. // Feb 10, 2010 at 05:58

    Wally, the Canon XSi/450D cameras I use don’t have video capability. Sad to say, even the newer DSLRs, which are equipped with video capability, cannot be synched together. They record video using their own internal clocks, and would drift apart after a few seconds. The only consumer-level solution available at this time for stereo video is the Fujifilm Real 3D.

  • 5 Dallas // Feb 11, 2010 at 00:00

    I have been trying to find one of these monitors to buy online but I can’t find one anywhere. New Egg and Amazon are sold out.

  • 6 Maxim // Feb 11, 2010 at 02:16

    Dave I was wondering how accurate the colours are. I am no professinal and do video/film for a hobby but I am planning on taking it at university so I just want to know wheather I should blow another £188 Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA 22″ E-IPS panel or will I be satisfied with colors on the Acer as I have never had an IPS ever

  • 7 Dave G. // Feb 11, 2010 at 10:36

    Maxim,

    I don’t have a way of providing a ‘scientific’ answer, measuring Delta E with a colorimeter or the like . They both make my photos ‘look good’. However, I don’t know of any professional who works with a TN monitor to adjust color, contrast, and white balance. If your school work will involve color-critical applications, I recommend you avoid all TN monitors. They are good for displaying slideshows of your finished work on, but not good for editing.

    However, if you asked me which monitor I would keep if I had to decide between the two, either keep the Acer with its 3D capabilities, or the HP with its color accuracy…the HP would be gone in a second! But if you can afford both, then I recommend you beg, borrow, and steal to get them both (I know this is not easy, I used to be a college student, too). It depends on your personal applications and needs.

    Hope that helps.

  • 8 Cesar Sommer // Feb 11, 2010 at 23:39

    Well i might add here something to lovers of stereophotography:

    Theres a group on deviantart with fellow photographers, maybe a place for exchange in techniques and see each others work.

    I joined a competion there:
    http://news.deviantart.com/article/106010/

    Its this group:
    http://stereoscopy.deviantart.com/

    Best Regards, Cesar
    http://www.cesarsommer.com

  • 9 evenohyeah // Mar 14, 2010 at 05:15

    just wonder when will GD245HQ sale on Hong Kong?

  • 10 Bloody // Mar 14, 2010 at 16:11

    I believe that it should already be available on sale in Hong Kong…

  • 11 evenohyeah // Mar 14, 2010 at 18:31

    NO~ Not sale yet on Hong Kong~ If it was already available, I don’t need to comment there~_~”

Leave a Comment